You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: # Dear Steemian, What Do You Think Can Be Done To Beat Depression?

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Depression is a very individualistic thing. Mine started in my teen years through some rough times, probably like most teens, but with a side order of other uncalled for events that I had to deal with. It carried on into adulthood after some pretty bad moments which have affected my life dramatically. I have been on antidepressants for many years, too many to count! But I decided to stop taking them a month or so ago. I am fed up of not being able to 'feel'. The problem I now have is that I am experiencing hyper emotions and I am extremely reactive. I don't know whether the best thing to do would just be to go back on the medication and become numb again ( @suesa has a brilliant story about emotions), or find a better way to deal with my depression and anxiety. I also have other health issues going on so I am battling with the urge of quitting all my meds right now, I am sick and tired of rattling when I walk! But I am probably being reactive again, due to my newly found emotions. It is a tough one depression, once you are in the medication cycle, it is hard to get out of it, but without the meds, I probably wouldn't be here today.

Sort:  

That is exactly how I felt. I hate the feeling of numbness and being zombified, but without the risk of hyper emotions. They can be crazy strong and unpredictable. Not good when you have little ones around (in my case). I think I have just talked myself into carrying on the medication for the time being (thank you) , but yes looking at all the fantastic and varied tips here and creating a goto list of things to do to boost your mood that you can tailor for yourself.

combinations work well, you can tweak things to suit you then Good luck :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56182.86
ETH 2369.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30