Its Going to be a SNOWY winter

in #life7 years ago (edited)

So all the farmers and "Ole timers" around can predict the weather using a persimmon seed.
Weather folklore right? But does it work? Lets find out. Basically you cut open a persimmon seed and look for a Knife,Spoon or Fork. Here is a picture I got online that shows all three.

If you see a spoon it means expect to shovel lots of snow..
A fork means your going to have a mild winter.
If you see a knife expect cold frigid winds that will cut right through you.

We have several persimmon trees on the property so we collected a couple persimmons from different trees to see what we would find.
I expected to get a couple of each knifes,spoons and fork.
what we found however as we opened each seed is they all had the same looking kernel.

image1 (2).jpeg

One by one they all had SPOONS

image4.jpeg
image2.jpeg

image3 (4).jpeg

I guess we will see if this winter is a snowy one and the persimmons and the Ole Timers are right.

Thanks for your help kids!
image6.jpeg

Sort:  

That’s some scientisticall stuff right there!

I had never heard of this weather prediction process.
But I did hear we would be having a colder and wetter winter where I am in Michigan.
Thanks for sharing this!

Your welcome and Thank you!
I've always heard it. Even the farmers almanac will reference it sometimes. I'm in SW MO we'll see if it hold true this winter. Then again we haven't really had a real snow in three years.

ouch! Then you're overdue for a.... (sorry)... storm to come through.
We get hit here with lake effect something nasty every year.
Three inches of fallen snow can turn into a foot of snowdrifts. ICK!

very interesting experiment. Funny I found this post because I just watched this. lol http://www.msn.com/en-us/video/wonder/scientists-predict-an-unusually-warm-winter-this-year-in-most-of-the-us-%e2%80%94-heres-why/vi-AAtMtZ3?ocid=ientp Kind of hard to predict the weather but I tend to believe the old timer methods either way there has to be something to them.

I agree. sometimes I wonder if the weatherman even knows what he is talking about.

No he doesnt easiest job in the world. Lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56766.86
ETH 2492.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36