You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Gambler

in #life7 years ago

I've done my pro stint after I've got face to face with burnout as a software developer. I was single, financially stable,... Betting had the appeal to it at the time, but soon enough it became a job.

It had one advantage I like, I didn't have to work for the man, but the rest of it was same as any job. Stay up to date, analyze the games,... same old same old.

I was about to get married, so I quit it and went back to software development. Four years later, I have a stable marriage, a young son, a house (no mortgages, paid in cash), no debt,... I'm not rich, but I'm not hurting for money.

I'm kinda getting bored with programming and that's why I entertained the notion of going back to gambling full time. My wife is working, too, so we have a stable monthly income. But when I thought it through, the boredom would soon settle in and I'll find myself in a volatile position. I'll stick to programming for the foreseeable future and play just for the fun of it.

Sort:  

Congrats on your life, my friend. It's one to be proud of and one which a lot of people will envy.
How old is your son?

Do you work for the same company you did prior betting? Is there an option to become a self employed developer and work on a freelance base for other companies. Just thinking out loud of course, but that would give you some kind of freedom, and also the power of change so you won't get bored out too often. And perhaps you would be able to combine it with betting or other sources of incomes.
Betting isn't the most secured income and I wouldn't recommend it to only rely on that when you have a young nice familly. Just my two cents of course ;-)

Thanks mate!

My son is two years old. A little guy with an infinite amount of energy. I try to keep up with him, but it's hard :-)

I'm working as a freelancer since 2004, before that I did a stint at a startup that failed. I'm handicapped in a way that I don't like being employee. I tried it and it sucked the soul out of me. I'm having some regular clients I work with as they are launching new projects or updating the old ones. It keeps me busy.

My path in life is not typical. No go to school, get the job, mind your career, retire, and die for me :-)

After the high school I've joined the military, done my time there and went to the law school, drop out of it once I've started earning money with programming computers,... a total mess career-wise. Sometimes I'm regretting not getting my degree in law, but not often though.

If you add up all the bad calls I made in my life, I have nothing to complain about. I've been one lucky bastard :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61199.00
ETH 2393.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56