There's always a first time for everything - A true story that will give you the chills

in #life6 years ago

Not that it's news to any of you, but today I only realized once again that there are different kinds of people in this world. Some are kind and gentle with loads and loads of patience, and some are goal-orientated and fast-paced with very little patience, if any.

The second one. That's me!

This is the reason I did not choose to become a kindergarten teacher. I chose to become an Intermediate and Senior phase teacher for a reason. It's just not in my personality to be kind all the time and I get very frustrated when it takes more than five minutes for Grade 6 learners to write a date, not to mention the time that goes by for underlining it too.

So today, I had my very first, unexpected experience with a class full of 29 Grade 1's. New ones! Pardon my French, but shit, for someone like me, it was the hardest and most uncomfortable thing to do. There is just that something special that Grade 1 teachers have, that I don't. They always look like they smile while they talk and that is NOT something that I do, like ever.

It came as a shock this morning. There was some kind of emergency and their teacher could not come in today. I was asked to substitute her and although it didn't seem like a big deal at the time, I had no idea what would be waiting for me inside the classroom with the red door.

The first school bell rang and in two perfect lines, all the Grade 1's lined up in front of the class. My first thought was "Wow! That's amazing! Why don't the Grade 7's stand in such neat lines ever?" Everyone was smiling and all I could see was teeth...well no, there was a few gaps from missing teeth but you know what I mean.

Some parents waved their children a last farewell as they entered the classroom while others hung around at the door with their kids clinging to them, totally overwhelmed by the fact that there is a strange teacher today. This was something they weren't prepared for as they have already gotten to know their teacher and suddenly, she's not there.

I realized then that I'll have to transform quickly into a "nice guy" or I'll have a few very nervous, anxious and scared children for the rest of the day. I had to earn their trust first with a grade 1 teacher smile which, to me, was very awkward, but it worked like a charm. Eventually, they let go of their parents and sat down at their little desks, waiting for me to break the ice. One didn't want to do anything at all. He only wanted to lay on his arms so I let him do that until he was ready to participate.

We started with a story. From my memory, I told them the story of Alfred, the sad little monkey that I wrote as a post here on Steemit a while ago. I had to act a little and as the story went on, I saw that the skinny little boy who was laying on his arms, was watching me with a smile on his face, enjoying my little dramatic monkey story. I won him and all the others over and they felt comfortable in my care.

Their teacher didn't leave any work scheme for me to do with them, so I had to improvise. I realized then, even more, that I don't know a thing about teaching little ones how to read or write, but I didn't have to. I was just the substitute for the day, so all I had to was entertain them for one whole day, and return them safe and sound to their parents in the afternoon.

But something happened today that broke my heart into pieces...

Just before break time, I had them all take out their lunchboxes so that they could be ready when the bell rings to go outside to play. They all had food, except for one little boy. The same one who was laying on his arms earlier. I didn't want to make him feel uncomfortable by asking where his lunch was, so I decided to wait until the other children left. He watched them all go outside with hands full of yummy treats while he sat down, empty-handed, waiting for everyone to leave. I stopped him at the door and had to think quickly of a way to approach this situation without hurting his feelings.

"Aren't you forgetting you're lunch?" I asked.

"I don't have any." he replied looking down.

I knew that he didn't forget it at home. It was obvious to me but I didn't want him to think that I've made up my mind.

"You don't have lunch? How did that happen?" I asked, trying not to sound suspicious.

What he said next echoed in my head. They way he said it will stick in my mind forever.

"My grandmother didn't pack any lunch because she didn't have any."

I felt so sorry for him. It was then that I realized: he was that skinny for a reason. I took his boney little hand in mine and got him something to eat. It was a sandwich. He didn't ask what was on it, nor did he open it up like my own children would. He didn't think twice about eating it. I could have given him anything and he would have eaten it without even checking what it was.

I reported the incident and this little boy will receive a free lunch from school from now on, every at school.

Maybe he was the reason I was placed in this class today. I had to do many things that was completely out of my comfort zone today. Not only did I learn to smile while talking (even if it was probably just for the day), but I also had to learn to pace down, take it slower, have sympathy and empathy, and to trust my instincts. I had to have patience and change who I am for the benefit of other people's children that were in my care.

At the end of the day, although my cheeks hurt and I had a massive headache, at least I can say that I touched at least one heart today. And THAT makes it worth it!

...and I got a hug too!


Source


Sort:  

Thank you, thank you, thank you for being there for him! Too often we don't pick up on what's going on. I'm so glad you had the presence of mind to look a little deeper into his situation.

flower-2514519_1280.jpg

Many a times we come to places just to be a help to someone. there is always someone we can help each day. We live not just for ourselves alone but the real essence of life is to add value and smile to someone else. The happiest people on earth are those who help others.

What a moving story. It's heart breaking to think how many kids are in that situation, and nobody picks up on it.

This is really heart touching story. I really appreciate your love and feelings for this kid. Your are a very caring and loving teacher. I am proud of your thoughts.
Thank you so much for sharing this.

Well that's just awesome Belinda! Must have been the reason you had to cover today...book a lunch day. Happy to see people like you here on Steemit. Moral compass and everything:0 Looking forward to more of your stories and I hope it rains soon in South Africa!!!

This story was really heart touching , i got emotional . Nice post and keep it up . Thank you

Having a smart child, good in attitude, and obedience is the dream of many parents. How to educate a child into a smart child is a question that is often asked by parents. I have an article about its see @akubaihaqi

All life is an experiment. The more experiments you make the better you become. Thank you @bdmomuae for what you did for the kid! if the world is full of people that is ready to put the poor first before them. then the world will be a better place full of peace.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66407.27
ETH 3219.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34