You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 9 Reasons Why the US is the Best Country in The World

in #life7 years ago

Hey, nice last name!

You have some great points about what makes The US the best country in the world. I think some of the ideas may start some discussion. The first one- GENTLEST FOREIGN POLICY OF ANY MAJOR POWER IN HISTORY may be somewhat controversial. Some would argue that we go into countries, especially in the Middle East to usurp their natural resources. We often stay a long time in countries where we have been engaged in military conflicts, don't we? We are still in Germany, Korea, Iraq, etc. I am not saying our presence is a bad thing but controversial at least.

I agree with you on your points that the US is a LAND OF OPPORTUNITY! We still have it pretty good here in that regard despite increasing government power and national debt which increases the risk of higher taxes and regulation.

As far as STRONG ENFORCEMENT OF CONTRACTS AND LAW goes, I do feel this is important but there is a delicate balance to be kept between regulation and over-regulation.

Your point on CONSUMER ACCESS TO DEBT FINANCING caught me off guard but I agree generally that you are correct- that this is an advantage. This one does strike a personal chord with me though as a person who has a history of being near bankruptcy as a result of being over-extended on my loans. Thankfully that is mostly in the past now. Maybe what we are lacking here is a culture or an educational system that teaches people how to use this tool as an advantage and not to their detriment.

Lastly, I was so thankful to see your point about ETHNIC AND RELIGIOUS DIFFERENCES DO NOT DIVIDE AND TERRORIZE THE POPULATION. I believe this is true overall despite some isolated incidents of terrorism. I hope that remains true forever as I hold freedom of religion very dear to my heart.

Steem on, brother!

Sort:  

Thanks for reading and commenting.

I believe you will find that in all cases where the US still has troops stationed overseas, the countries in question have requested US to stay. Germany, Japan, Korea, Philipines, etc. Having a large US troop presence provides stability to the foreign country, at little to no cost to the foreign country.

When the foreign country asks the US to leave, we get the heck out of dodge. Ecuador, Iraq, etc

So I stand by the point of a foreign policy that is not focused on grabbing land.

Compare to Russia and Ukraine, China and Taiwan, China and Tibet, Pakistan and Kashmir, etc

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57831.03
ETH 3136.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42