Three mistakes, learning a new language “One of my English experience”

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Three mistakes, learning a new language “one of my English experience

Lets me introduce a bit, as a person who all its live has lived in a country where only a few parts of the population can speak 2 languages, and most of them are people who started studying the language in prestigious schools, also in a early age and here is where people think that they have super skills and stuff like that but that's not true, even when something is real that, children learn faster than adults. My thing is that chiefly they have the ability to speak 2 or more languages because children don't have fear to fail and they are so so curious, how this is a theme so huge and deep let’s me talk about myself.

When I was a child, I’ve used to be that boy who play video game with my playstation "The one, of course" and also Playing RPG games like TIBIA or MU, I’ve used to get angry and freak out because most of the games were in English, and as a Native Spanish speaker obviously most of those words I didn't understand it. But incredible when I was playing those games those helped me so much, one of the reason it was if I didn't know any word I try to find it the meaning.

Years later I decided to study seriously English as a language you know in an institute, Because In my mind always had this question if I have the opportunity going to another country where people speak English I'm gonna miss that opportunity for the simple reason that I don´t speak English?. And here is when my journey started, the mistakes and my questions. As I said previously, it’s a theme so huge and I would like to talk about myself and these were the most common mistakes that I’ve used to make.

1 Custom

When I say the custom is for this reason, I’ve used to translate everything from my language (spanish- english, english-spanish) and here is when I was making my first mistake this it took me so many time to catch it, and years later watching videos I learned that the best thing you can do is assosiating with experiencies,pictures and thing like, I mean making a Little effort and using my brain.Even using dictionaries Spanish-English and English Spanish.

sarmiento.jpg

2 Grammar and Tests

Of course test measure your skill a good , but I’m gonna explain this, I was studying at an institute and the priority was that I just wanted approval the level, and that's why I spent so many hours making grammar exercise using books.

grammar.jpg

You know present past, future, infinite, adjective, pronoun and BLA BLA BLA and here was the other mistake.We know that learning grammar is so important because this help that you don't speak and write´like a monkey, but ask you this question when we are talking with somebody does we makes a sentence with sub-verb-and all that kind rules? the thing is this at this point when we're learning a new language, is better if teachers make much more interaction with their student? I mean asking and answering, but here is the fail as a student, because we don´t like talking in the classroom we use to feel scared to fall. A new language has to be something that you enjoy its simple and the responsibility is with yourself, nobody else and the idea is that you can talk with people, even when your fluency is not perfect we have to remember that this takes years.

3 Asking for The time

When we are learning something we want to watch good results in a short time typical in our occidental culture and here is when it happens to me something interesting. I was in a Little city of my country (SAN JUAN DE LOS MORROS).

20170207_163045-1.jpg

I was walking across the street and I buy an old book here the name of the book is “THE ZEN WAY TO THE MARTIAL ARTS” By Taisen Deshimaru. Translated to the English by Nancy Amphousx, this book learned me an important lesson and it was something like “in this life in the occidental culture we have as a custom learn paying attention to the time. And we like to make things fast as we can” and not paying attention to the result of course I wasn´t the exception every day I’ve used to ask how much time does our need to speak a language? and this was my most critical mistake for a huge reason, simply that time I wasted finding a magical way in internet how to get, I could approach practicing.

imagen del libro.jpg

This book learned me an important lesson and it was something like “in this life in the occidental culture we have as a custom learn paying attention to the time. And we like to make things fast as we can” and not paying attention to the result. Of course I wasn´t the exception every day I’ve used to ask how much time does our need to speak a language? and this was my most critical mistake for a huge reason, simply that time I wasted finding a magical way in internet how to get, I could approach practicing.

With this Little post I tried to give some tips, but I think the most important of everything is always being persistent and never give up, and always believe in yourself. The good thing is that nowadays we have a lot of ways how to learn a new language and I think that Steemit will help you a lot. I know that I can have some mistakes here, but I tried to make in English, as I said this platform going to help us to practice the language that we are learning and one of my objectives is used for this.

Sort:  

Nice! Thanks for the tips.

thanks you my friend If u speak 2 languages I would like to share with post my experience but we just have to be persistent :D and this was one of my experencie :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59425.55
ETH 2345.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44