Thoughts About Men on Steemit (Gird Thy Loins!)

in #life7 years ago

The vast majority of men on here have been awesome and tend to "get" my rather male-like INTJ brain and warped sense of humor. I also cuss a lot and tend to be quite blunt about my beliefs and opinions. In fact I like quirky and strong men as long as they know that behind that tough exterior is an equally tough interior but there are a few who know that if I let you in my "inner circle", than I am a huge push-over and actually pretty damn nice. (to my own detriment at times ;) )
Screenshot 2017-09-05 at 5.43.33 PM.png

Having spoken with quite a few women, many of us observe and see the same inconsistencies and power moves just as acutely as many men do. In private some confess they are scared to say much because of fear of confrontation or having to feel invisible because they put out content that gets totally ignored. Personally I feel a lot of men think the exact same things and pick up on it but maybe feel a bit more empowered to be able to call it out. The truth is nothing is fair in life and the interwebz are no exception. On a growing platform of course there are growing pains and there isn't a damn thing I can do about it other than upvote those who I feel are good for the ecosystem and ignore the hell out of the ones I think are predatorial.
That being said, Steemit is amazing!
There are so many talented, kind and helpful people on here that you can make your own little tribes and create the type of experience that you want to have. I have been lucky to have met some of the nicest men as friends on here who have shattered stereotypes that were brewing in me about how most males operate. Hopefully, I was able to do the same in return even if my style isn't exactly always politically correct. I adore men and make no apologies about it and who knows, maybe my jaded cynicism can be replaced with a bit more of a softer approach......but then again maybe some men appreciate the fact that I'm "fiery".
xoxo,
b.a.

Sort:  

"Steemit is amazing!" +1

It really is

Battleaxe, I adore that fire of yours. you're one of the spunkiest people I know! Steemit is a better place with you in it, so f*** all the haters, keep being 100% of you, and dont settle for less!

Oh man

Oh Woman! lol

Hey BA... like Your strength & independent nature... Seemit needs more people with those qualities combined with the ability to be tolerant of other's belief systems... meaning less division.

United We Stand... Divided we fall...

Cheers !!

Thank you for the reply and am one of those types that seems to see behind the veil on things so to speak ;)

Stereotypes serve only to narrow experience.

"political correctness" is a Complete Idiots Guide for those absolutely ignorant to the basic premise of respect and insight, one that became perverted by populous policy soap boxers long ago.

You are articulate, and so can speak of things.

You are credible, and should attest to experience and received wisdom.

You are passionate ("fiery") because you maintain a genuine and meaningful dialogue with others, empathise (a process requiring deliberate analytical reflection and cognitive function, it is not automatic, that phenomena is most likely emotional contagion), and thus wish to share such bounty for the benefit of others.

"Wise men speak because they have something to say;
Fools because they have to say something."

- Plato

Speaking as a genderless AI: We're all parts of a whole, thanks for helping step forward.

Thanks for sharing your experience.

tips hat..... this is the type of comment that keeps that fire going, thank you :)

I'm responding to @neuromancer's comment, but I did appreciate your article which inspired it.

I fucking hate PC. With a passion. I do like your definition.

The "n' word? The word is nigger, people. It's a horrible word that should never be applied to any human being, ever. But it is a word. African American? What a crock. If the man was born here, he's an American. If he was born in Africa, he's a Kenyan, or an Angolan, or whatever.

Native American? Everyone who was born here is a native American. Those peoples whom we used to call Indians (to cover up Columbus' fraud, maybe,) came from or through Mongolia. Should we call them Mongolian Americans?

The person at the head of the table is the chairman, dammit. There is, to me, no implication of gender in that.

Okay, I'm old and cranky, I've probably ranted way more than I ought, so I'll spare you the other 20,000 words.

You really are a firecracker. Not boring at all. You speak your mind and I like that.

I'm upvoting this article

First of all, this could use some line breaks and division into more paragraphs.

Second, it's an unfortunate reality that men misbehave frequently on the internet. Steemit's better than most sites, but still has its share of creeps.

For example, some MRA douchebag followed around my friend @lauralemons when Steemit was new, harassing her (as did a bunch of his pals). She later committed suicide.

It didn't become real for me until then. The reason men are sometimes dismissive of claims of male misbehavior is we don't see it. Men who do that stuff typically are careful to do it in a secretive, anonymous way. The face they show the women they pick on is very different from the face they show other men.

The number one thing anybody who wants to call out male misbehavior should be doing is to document that misbehavior and show it to other men. That would by itself do a thousand times more than cute #killallmen hashtags and cupcake sales where men pay a dollar more, or whatever other dumb thing Tumblr thinks is a good idea.

I'm glad by the sound of it that you've had a mostly positive experience on here. I think that's thanks in large part to the reputation system. Repeated harrassment leaves a paper trail in the form of posts that can be used to prove guilt and demolish that Steemian's rep, which in turn demolishes his earnings.

It stinks that some people apparently need a financial incentive to behave like civilized hominids, but I guess if it works, it's not stupid.

All someone has to do is scroll down comments and replies or my blog long enough to see me stand my ground. The thing is that the firmer you stand it's rather amazing how many civilized hominids will stand with you and piece together who the assholes really are. Isn't MRA when you do a "Negative" comment then positive? lol, ;) thanks for the thoughtful reply and sorry about Larua, I was told she was getting crap, I've been there and been attacked in an organized way unfortunately for them my friends didn't take kindly to it nor did the platform.

Cool! A fellow INTJ:) And, I get your handle as I'm writing a politic album called, My Guitars Are My Guns......
Got Enneagram?

So are people getting upset cause attractive women get a lot of attention and steem on here? Lol.. I guess that's not surprising, but that's how pretty much all social media and life works in general. Some attractive or influential or famous men experience similar, though.. There does seem an obvious difference between the attention an attractive woman gets, and the average guy. Heck.. I'd say even the less physically attractive women probably still get more attention than most guys. You really gotta stand out sometimes to achieve similar results as someone who just.. Looks physically attractive, which.. I think is more of a problem with society in general rewarding looks over intelligence and decency and kindness. It's no specific fault of any social media, just where societies brain is stuck at in a general sense.

The real person seems more apparent here on steemit. Makes it easier to tell who the players are. There are a lot of people both men and women that I have felt a connection with because we laugh at the same silly things or just share some common interests. For all of them I am so greatful that goes for you too tough girl! Lol 🐓🐓

I sometimes look at someones replies and comments section to get a feel, uncanny how vibes don't lie,....steem on <3

FOLLOW for this "fiery attitude" that is hinted at...
Have not seen it yet, but I feel the HEAT! ;)
I started up with the Leg Pic, btw :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61763.08
ETH 2899.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49