Respect, if you don't give it you won't get it...

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Do you Demand Respect or Command it?
All the usual joking aside, it is easy to get quite angry on here. Some of us who were on longer see others gaming the system, riding coat tails and leaping up faster then the O.G. users.

We know some "Sock" Accounts playing "nice and innocent" and again, it is easy to be nauseated on here. It is harder to maintain your actual sign up Main account then to try to juggle tons of "alts" to start fresh after you wreak havoc all over the platform. At some point the Collective will ball up into a fist and push back for the general good. Acting like the most special snowflake ever created gives a sad High School vibe that pushes to the side some amazing content imho.

There is something to be said about the ones who stay the course through the ups and downs. Many of us at some points want to throw in the towel and some do....only to pop back up when fair weather returns. The more sedate types who don't post so much about successes or failures tend to stand out to me as steadfast and commanding respect. Just as life is not fair, neither is this platform.
We can either change things, accept things or yell with a bullhorn about how awesome we are while DEMANDING to be heard. I am assuming most people on here are coherent enough to make up their own minds. Steem is doing rather well but the flipside is to expect an influx of every walk of life including some who believe that somehow everything will crumble without their magnificent knowledge, or essays or sheer presence.

One can be assertive without being aggressive. If you stick around long enough you will find the people who respect you. They will respect you because you earned it, generally are cordial but take no crap.....you find respect when you give respect. Demanding things only serves to reinforce that greed rules and that petulant brats are running the joint. ;)

Upvote, Follow, Resteem, Be my friend :P @battleaxe
tS-battle_LEGShmwhot222.jpg

syndicates.png
(giphy, @thealliance, @elgeko youtubecommonusagemontagetatanbrown)

Sort:  

Can we be your friend? :P

you my best friend on here, only one I'll ever chat on skype with for starters, :P

"Dear Steemian Friends"

:D

lmfao

And it's the same for me. :)

One saying my Mum said to be so many times that I never forget it and now it is somethign I live by is do unto others as you would like them to do to you

this is something I strongly adhere to now including on here, I hate spam comments so wil not give spam comments if I make a comment i want to make it real and related to the post , but I also like to respect peoples opinions, if someone shares a post I do not personally agree with i will generally decide not to reply or disagree justy because i have a different opinion it does not mean I cannot respect someone for having a different opinion

Gamma rocks

Yeah, good to respect people no matter there status... No matter what you view in them.....

yes o do agree

i found many very nice people here :)

Good job of laying it all out there @battleaxe! Respect and common courtesy go a long way, for sure. I enjoy reading all of your posts, because your style is so different. You drag me out of my comfort zone and say "Hey, you! Get over here and look at this!" Love it.

Thank you so much for the compliment, am glad to have people who dig my brainzzz ;)
take care
b.a.

Lol...you had me at "petulant brats"

you had me at , "you can wear your investments as a fashion statement, ;) "

Haha! You know you want that golden bullet....

Yeah, I have to agree to what you said above for sure. Demanding whether or the net or in real life (unless you are the actual boss of things) doesn't do much to be honest. I think yes what people should focus on is if they want respect they have to give respect. Things will not be perfect, things will not be "fair", stuff doesn't work like that, not in real life and not here. Of course it is tough seeing people soar past into high reps or make more money, especially when you know how much you put in with your time and dedication, but all I can say is for people to keep going (quit the constant comparison of each other if it's not productive), and like you said, find people you respect and that respect you. Great post and one needing to be said for sure.

thanks....yeah, it's nice rising up together as a group and such and interesting to see how people change over time when incentivized kindness is potentially added into the equation

Lovely contribution
.... Being sincerely I love what you put down....

I've been on this platform since middle of August 2016. I've seen fights, flag wars, I've seen whale slaps like you wouldn't believe, accounts skyrocket and disappear into obscurity, I watched through the bot wars and saw the creation of @cheetah. I was around when Steemcleaners was first started, I was even part of it for a time. I remember when @berniesanders was the one true god whale of Steemit, he even used to upvote my posts. Hell, I used to get @ned votes too. I waded through the trudging dark times as the price of Steem fell to the bowels of hell itself. I watched as many went silent and left, I myself disappeared for some time. I used to average $60-$100 per post, and after HF19 I saw my payouts instantly drop to around $1-$5 per post, $15 if I'm lucky. But I kept my SP the whole time, I never powered down, I kept my head down and posted when I could, and I try to never complain. I respect those that don't complain, but it is hard when you see pure garbage filling the trending pages, and useless zero thought posts making hundreds and thousands in payouts per day. Maybe I'm just jealous, but I try not to complain at least, and respect those that respect me.

ce la vie
I am happy for much of the people and things on here, My earning plummeted after HF 19 then Flag Attack where it was the Whales who saved my ass so.....it is a microcosm of the macro imho, some of the ones on here with the 'harshest' reps (sometimes myself included) are actually looking out for the greater good imho

I am very happy to have a 15 dollar post, you seen what an sbd is worth or steem...... ;)

And not to mention the future price of steem . We have all had our differences and hardships but we are all in it together. I am just happy I found discord .

love discord....

Yeah I get so stoked about $15.00 posts now, but I keep worrying that they will fix the broken SBD peg any day now haha. Glad to hear you were saved by the whales, there are a lot of good people around here, and I think in general most want to make it a better place and keep the jerks at bay. I totally agree with you about the ones with harsh reps, I think many here get caught up drama that is going on currently but don't really look into where some of it came from. Anyhow, keep up the good work, I enjoy reading your posts :) Also yes, discord is great.

wait so your telling me that they are paying sbd and that price isnt usd?

If you choose 50/50 payout when you post, when the payout comes you will receive 50% of the payout in steem power and 50% in SBD. SBD is supposed to be pegged to the US dollar, meaning its value should always be around $1 USD, but currently that peg is way, way off, like $8.00 off. However Steemit is still treating post payouts as if the USD to SBD peg is in effect, meaning that on a payout where your total is say $10.00, you will receive something like 1 steem power and 5 SBD. But you can then transfer the SBD to an exchange (if you want to) and sell that SBD for a value of around $35-$40

Good re-centering, glad I saw this. I have been doing pretty well lately, but I realize it is from my good friends on the platform who helped BUILD the Platform. BA is like a solid supporting column or beam in Steemit, among many. Strength in numbers, no comm- unity... w/o UNITY


We love you for who you are! We are what we focus on. Me? I am but a dream. While you, are the now. Believe it or not. You are the here and now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62980.29
ETH 2631.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82