This Is What I Woke Up To This Morning!

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I was listening to the weather last night and they said we would get snow starting about 2 AM. I thought it might be a flurry but nothing to pile up really, as we are in the south. I got up this morning to go and check the post office box, do not get much mail there and it had been a while since I went and checked it, opened the door and there was snow out there and much more than I expected. If you want to drop us a card in the mail or just say "HI" here is the P.O Box address for you.
P.O Box 3
Mauk Ga. 31058

0117180952.jpg

The sun had melted some of the snow off the side of the van but it had piled up and I had to clean it off before I could leave. The school was closed today and in the news, there was some ice under the snow in places and people had slid into ditches and such.

0117180952a.jpg

This is headed down the driveway toward the main road. So I got the van cleaned off and warmed up and was off to the post office. There were some bad places on the road where it will freeze tonight and cause some problems for people later tonight that are out and about. I lived in Alaska for 2 years and in Michigan for 4 years so this was not much of a concern for me but to the people that have lived here all their life it is terrible. They do not know how to drive on the snow and ice and it makes a mess for them. I think they have one truck here for spreading sand and they will be out sanding the bridges here, as they do not have enough to sand all the roads.

This has been my morning and I will be getting around to get some other stuff done today as there is always something to do around here. So I hope everyone has a great day. Hope to see you in the comments below.

Please Do Not Forget To Follow, Upvote And Resteem!


Please Help Support Our Veterans
Delegate To The "Humvee" Bot @shadow3scalpel

Sort:  

(you hear an engine rev and horn honk)
MEEP! MEEP!
(the window on the humvee rolls down to reveal a warm smiling face)
"Hello! I'm @shadow3scalpel and with the help of my protege, @chairborne, we are actively assisting veterans, retirees and active servicemen and women here on Steemit. We feel it is our 'duty' to support each other. Any questions or comments you may have, simply respond to this comment, thank you!"
(the window rolls up and the engine roars as it drives to the next person on the list)
Comment by @killerwhale. This is a opt-in bot.

I haven't left my little corner of the world since Thursday. The snow rolled into Joplin Thusday night. I had to get out to the library today, (afraid they'd put out bolo for a missing person on me if I waited any longer to visit!) And I had to sweep 6" of powder off my car. We haven't had a snow like that in 2 or 3 years.

It slowed everything down here for a couple of days. I only go if I have too. I know about me driving in the snow, just not the other people.

My thoughta exactally! It doesn't matter how well I drive, it won't stop the driver who can't control their car from smashing into mine.

Michiganian lifelong here!

Maybe I'll send you a note one day soon!!!

Wife is from Michigan! I will be looking for that note!

I much prefer a nice beach ;-)

Me too! we had this instead, it can not always be warm and sunny in the south.

Agreed on the novice 'snow' drivers... they're more of a danger to themselves and others than the actual snowy roads. Glad you made it there and back!

Yeah, people down here just do not know how to handle the snow and ice. Even the rain scares me with some of the people on the road.

Oh yeah, I can see that happening with the rain, too. I lived in Fl for a couple years and saw folks freak out like they'd never seen the stuff before. If they're that scared to drive, they shouldn't have a license in the first place.

Full disclosure - my pet sit business has me on the road a lot. I'm heavily biased on the subject of driving. ;~P

Love your driveway. You must be out of sight from the main road. Nice
@cullyguy

Out of sight is a great thing! I know the minute someone comes up my driveway as the dogs will let me know quick

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63498.69
ETH 2645.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80