She Has Hot Water Now! I Will Never Forget That Smile.

in #life7 years ago

I finally got that water heater in! It was one thing after another today. Let me tell you what was happening. The old water heater had one element in it as it was a mobile home water heater. She only had enough to get the regular house water heater and the inlet and outlet are on the top of those and the inlet and outlet on a mobile home heater are hot on top and cold inlet on the bottom. It was pex pipe so I could not cut them off and start over as she did not have the funds for that, so we improvised some. I had some 3/4 inch pipe nipples and I screwed them to the old connections and some adapters to go from that to PVC and CPVC. I bottom was offset to about 33 degrees and a 45 would not make it work because if there was much stress on the lower connection it would leak, as it was made for a straight tight connection. I will have to come up with a better solution for this at a later date but was trying to get her back home. She knows I am a phone call away if she needs something.

So I fished the new wire in for the connection under the mobile home and got that all straightened out, hooked it up left the breaker off and went to thinking how to make the connections work. Well, this is what I can up with.

0126181614.jpg

I know it is not the prettiest but it does work. I used a flexible water heater hose between the bottom inlet and the top inlet to counteract the 33-degree angle I had to have. I did not think it would work but it did and it is doing just fine. Had to really tighten those old connections on the brass pipe nipple to keep them from leaking but it worked and no leaks.
I had the water on and turned all the hot and the cold water valves on for a minute and shut off the cold but left the hot on to purge the tank of air. Many people forget to do this and burn the top element out in the water heater.

She will be back home tomorrow and cannot wait. She wanted to go home tonight but she decided it would be better to wait for tomorrow when it was daylight. Now it is time for me to get busy and get mine installed in the small house. So be sure to look for those and other posts. I am sorry the pictures are not that great but we are trying so please bear with us.
From@basicstoliving to you, thank you for your support of our blog. Hope everyone has a good night/day, whatever it is in your neck of the woods.

Please Do Not Forget To Follow, Upvote And Resteem!


Please Help Support Our Veterans
Delegate To The "Humvee" Bot @shadow3scalpel

Sort:  

Beep!Beep! @shadow3scalpel & listkeeper @chairborne have your six new veterans, retirees and military members on STEEM. We’ll be patrolling by to upvote your posts (because you are on the list) and we'll answer any questions you leave us. Comment by @shadowspub. This is a opt-in bot.

NICE WORK BROTHER!!!!!! Happy for you..

Thanks, brother!

Excellent job. You are a gentleman and a scholar! You made someone very happy today. Invaluable. Good on you! 🐓🐓

Many people take advantage of older people and it was nice to know that she knew there are still so good people in the world today.

I am interested in your way of water heater, support, share, follow you

good work by you, keep it up

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61328.01
ETH 2752.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45