You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: but I want it?

in #life6 years ago

Very long post, but I did manage to read it, I did not watch the video, due to bandwidth issues on the part of my carrier. A very enlightening expose on yourself, and what you are doing.

areas of me I am obsessed with improving

That is something that will resolve with time, we either grow naturally, and learn or we do not. It does not matter how much we obsess with something, it will get us nowhere as you know.

It was fun learning a little bit/lot about you.

Sort:  

hi, many thanks for your kind and informative comment, I am glad you chose to read all of it, I do prefer long posts myself and I appreciate others don't so it makes me glad when someone chooses to read all of it thank you, I am still new to the world of steem, I have no idea about the bandwidth, however I do feel that as not all of my posts carry a video it will not be a regular issue, I also feel that it is an essential ability to be able to include a video if i wish to so I will learn about it and how best I can offer both writing and video if I choose to remain within the world of steem, and I agree with you I know each day my self improvement increases and I am happy I have learned to take it a little slower and to not punish myself psychologically if I fail , it took a lot of hard work as I am most impatient with myself, and I am lucky as I have people who care that insist I go a little easier on myself, I also would like to say thank you for taking the time to communicate with me and with a genuine interest and care, I have found the world of steem a little overwhelming and in fact became quite discouraged in recent days, the lack of communication felt isolating, and I don't have the desire to fit into cliques, it often feels like steemland is a big party where every little clique is standing at opposite ends of the room, I tend to have a wide and eclectic mix of interests and I like to write about all of them, and I have found tagging really hard, today I shall research the bandwidth you speak of as this is another new area to learn, and it was difficult enough trying to follow what is said about voting, and I still have no real clue about voting I just keep upvoting posts I like, it is very offputting to learn about bidbots votebot stuff etc and to find out some people here aren't people but bots, I was daft enough to try communicating with one and turned out to be a bot I felt a little embarrassed aahh well I am sure I will get the hang of all this if I choose to carry on, it has all been confusing, I have to say that so far my posts have merely been introductory, the way I write I tend to gently introduce myself before getting into the full machinations of my thoughts, so far though it has felt like I am a lone voice in the wilderness, there have been a couple of kind people like yourself who took the time to communicate which I appreciate but I do not always receive replies to my comments and in all honesty before I saw your message I was contemplating leaving steem it didn't feel like a good fit for me, perhaps my style of writing simply didn't appeal to the steem community , your message is giving me food for thought though so I may consider more fully whether I continue writing here or choose another platform, thank you also for your kindness towards my self improvement adventure, as you say though it will all come with time, I will pop over to your blog and have a look around, I am very glad to make your acquaintance and I look forward to getting to you , again thank you for your kind communication I appreciate it, much respect to you and I hope you have an excellent day

The bandwidth issue I have is not on steemit, rather my internet service provider, I use a smartphone to connect, and my speed is not very good at times when it come to playing videos. Steemit is a little bit different than facebook I have been told, I would not really know as I have never used facebook. Lets see if I can help you want to stay for a couple of weeks.

  1. Your vote power only restores at a slow pace, so as a new user you want to only vote for 10-15 post a day. You are down to about 15% vote power so it is very important to let it build back up. according to https://steemworld.org/@beckieg - your vote power will not be back to 100% for over 4 days. The ideal vote power you want is to keep it between 80% and 98%. You do not want it to sit at 100% because then it does no good for you or anyone else. That steemworld.org link is one of the best tools available for steemit.
  2. Try to only resteem things that you really like or think your audience/followers would like. Remember people follow you for who you are not for who you resteem on steemit. You want people to be able to find your post on your site so keep the resteems to a minimum.
  3. In order to build a following, people need to know who you are, and what your thoughts are, so visit pages and people with content you like. If you see a post you like and it juves with who you are, upvote it, and leave a nice comment. If it is something that completely just turns your stomach, say nothing, mute them and move on to the next post. By engaging people on their post you may peek their interest and they may go look at your page to see who and what you are about, (one of the reason to not over resteem).
  4. When you find post that you like, after reading them, voting and commenting on them, take a good second look, see what kept your attention, see who commented on their post, see who the banners (if they have any) link to. Read the comments by the other people that responded to the post, if a comment piques your interest, comment on it. There is nothing that says comments only need to be directed at the poster. Engage his followers also, they could end up following you.
  5. As you find content you like see if there is a common thread that you have been enjoying, if so are you seeing some familiar names commenting on the same post that you do? Is there a community the people seem to belong to? If you see the same names, go visit their pages see what they have, find one of their post you like read it comment and vote for it.
  6. When commenting and being new to steemit and getting used to, for the next two weeks or so do a shout out type of comment. Example: "Hi @blahblahblah, I found your post/blog by following you home from @kjikjikji post, I thought you had a really nice and relevant comment so I wanted to see what you had, I am glad I did because I really enjoyed your post." There is nothing wrong with a little flattery when it is deserved, nor anything wrong with letting someone know how you found their blog. Many people use gina.bot for notifications, and Steemworld's notifications and mentions tool are up and running now also.
  7. When you start to get rewards, you will want to power them up and convert to steem, so that not only your vote power increases, but your bandwidth increases also.
  8. let me know if you need any help with anything else, and the @newbieresteemday people are also a good source of support and a very kind community, ther Tag is #newbieresteemday.

hiya, this is very kind of you, I appreciate your help, these are all good points, and I appreciate that for someone who wishes to build a following they are very useful, if I ever decided that is what I want then I will take note of these points and possibly put some of them into play, however I do feel that as I am only here to see if I enjoy the adventure then I shall continue as I am , I have no wish at all to build a 'following' I believe that some will resonate with me and others will not, I also feel that this is merely an application and whether or not it appeals to me as yet I have not decided, I have no interest in whether my vote is worth a monetary value, I vote if I like something, I resteem if I want to , I have no interest in whether or not this means anything to anyone except myself , I do not believe in commenting unless I feel I actually want to, for whatever reason, so far I have found very few occasions where I felt like commenting, I actually do not like and will not indulge in flattery, I will always show good manners and will always compliment someone I feel like complimenting , I appreciate substance and often even if I do not follow , like, or agree with a post I will still appreciate and upvote if I feel it has substance in my view, tagging is a concept I do not like, I only indulge at all so that it will post my writing, when It comes to the idea of others finding my post the whole concept eludes me, I have said many times in many lives that my creativity, whether it is my art, my writing, or the zillion other projects I find myself enjoying I do not do it for others, only for myself, consequently I have endured other peoples frustration, especially with my art, I won't sell it, I have done on occasion, same as with my writing, I found I didn't like it, so I stopped, I prefer to just create/write/paint etc if others then find that piece of work and then like it, then it's a brucey bonus, (a slang term) but basically I am simply a creator, not seller, I create, and I am happy, as to any value in my vote/opinion,thoughts, it is not placed in anything anyone else can describe nor place rules or a system upon I act as I feel, I am not I appreciate a typical person of steemland and I do believe in my introductory post I did mention I am different, I am not here for anyone else only myself, I do not wish for anyone to find or like any of my thoughts or creations unless they find that they want to, I will not and have no interest in influencing in any way what others choose to do, I am now trying to type with a huge cat taking over my keyboard, it is a tad difficult, I will set aside these points you kindly offer until such time as I feel they are relevant to any situation I feel they are useful, I will however visit and support those mentioned in point 8 as I always believe in supporting those that help others, and kindness always gets my respect, please know I fully respect your kindness and the time and effort you took to make this reply and I very much appreciate your outlook, and they are all useful points for someone who wishes to utilise steem in what appears to be the accepted way, it is nice to meet someone who will go out of their way to help and I appreciate that, for the moment I have no interest in anything other than sharing my thoughts whether others find these thoughts of value is their choice and I have no wish to influence that choice in any way, those that do will gravitate towards me anyway no matter what I do and I am not sufficiently interested in anything to do with selling either myself or my ideas, I like the concept of the steem platform, in that is a blogging platform using the blockchain, that is more or less my initial interest, but rarely am I interested in how or why someone else found it or chooses to be here, it is not for me to say what others find of value, for myself I am very much an introvert and an optimist, I also find it difficult to follow systems , rules, implied or otherwise, like I said this is an application I chose to entertain to see how it felt, I will utilise those parts I wish to and I will write,resteem,and vote as I want to, for all those who wish to be here to build whatever they like I wish them success, for myself i will do as I wish and see how long I find it interesting for, I do appreciate however that in the interests of friendship and I do feel the possibility of this evolving into a friendship and I will always pay you respect and that to me is worth far more than a vote a following or any such concept people in steemland seem to be rather focused on, I appreciate your explanation of bandwidth and I understand now, I do not use facebook for a long long time but I do remember friends telling me at the time they had difficulty with my page when using a phone on account of I will post a lot of videos, usually music videos, I used facebook at the time to connect with other music appreciators, I did feel for my friends however I loved my music so carried on regardless, I appreciate also that words are powerful and are often misunderstood so please let me make it clear I have full respect for your point of view and for those points you have mentioned, you have earned my full respect as an individual and I like that you have taken time and put in effort into communicating with me, you have my friendship and I appreciate all you have said, particularly you display good manners and I find that important, I apologise I do not have time right now to yet visit your space in this world and I will do so at a later time, I am interested in learning more of your thoughts and I look forward to building a firm friendship, right now though I have to go thank you again and much respect to you (there's a storm brewing here and the sky has that ominous feel to it, I do love a good storm, time to enjoy the rain) I hope you have a fab day

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59698.94
ETH 2303.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51