The Life & Times of Barry Dutton: | E.5 | Some sweet pictures of me and a 1911 Cadillac worth $115k, More about me, My Caddies, The town here where GM started & Cadillac History.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I'm a guy that appreciates a decent car and have had Caddies myself. (Pics in this post also.)

As a kid born and raised in the GM town Oshawa where GM actually started, the auto and GM culture was just something that is natural thing for most of us in a town like this.

I've had Cadillacs, as I said, so this held special significance for me.


--

That is one of my Caddies - a low km. very well maintained 2000 STS.

I was reminded today of the time about 2 yrs. ago, I was out for a drive with a friend, after we had a burger in Whitby and right near that burger joint which is famous locally in the city beside me (Starr Burger in Whitby) - I spied this sweet car on the lot of a well known local auto restorer. Of course I had to stop.



If you look up where the GM Headquarters are, you will see it is actually in my town here, not far from the Hwy 401, and it sits on the waters of Lake Ontario and the Second Marsh, both things I have fought to protect as a resident/activist/ environmentally responsible human being.


You will see pictures of myself and the owner here in this post. The car from all accounts was made in Detroit and you can see some of that detail in one of the interior shots.

--

--

The Cadillac Model Thirty is an automobile that was introduced in December 1909 by Cadillac, and sold through 1911. It was the company's only model for those years and was based on the 1907 Model G. The 1912 Model 1912, 1913 Model 1913, and 1914 Model 1914 were similar but used larger engines. (WikiPedia)

--

--

--

--

--

--

--

--

The engine was the same 226.2 in³ (3.7 L) four-cylinder L-head design used in the Model G, and that car's simple sliding-gear transmission was also adopted. The engine was bored out to 255.4 in³ (4.2 L) for 1910 and 286.3 in³ (4.7 L) for 1911 and 1912. The engine was reworked, with a longer stroke, for 1913, giving 365.8 in³ (6.0 L) of displacement. This same engine served in 1914. (WikiPedia)

The 1911 Cadillac Model 30 was powered by a 286 cubic-inch four-cylinder engine offering 40 horsepower. It had a three-speed sliding transmission and rode on a 116-inch wheelbase. The wheels measured 26-inches with 34x4.5-inch tires. Standard equipment included a top, speedometer, carbide generator, Gray & Davis Head, side and tail lamps custom made for Cadillac.

(Info named below at bottom of post via - http://www.conceptcarz.com/vehicle/z17066/Cadillac-Model-30.aspx)

--

Source for the Engine Photo - all others taken by myself on my Samsung Phone. -- By dave_7 - originally posted to Flickr as 1911 Cadillac Type 30 Engine, CC BY 2.0, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=10234340

--


More GREAT Reading on this Model and year, and the heritage of Cadillac:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cadillac_Model_Thirty

http://www.conceptcarz.com/vehicle/z17066/Cadillac-Model-30.aspx

https://www.gmheritagecenter.com/docs/gm-heritage-archive/vehicle-information-kits/Cadillac/1911_Cadillac_VVI.pdf


Thanks for reading, have a nice day.




If you feel my posts are undervalued or you want to donate to tip me - I would appreciate it very much.

Bitcoin (BTC) - 18J6RRuzX4V7b2CDbx7tWZYNBLkkGWsvWX

Ethereum (ETH) - 0x3Ad69Ff057C9533ca667B2d7E3E557F5eeFd4477

Ethereum Classic (ETC) - 0x5ab2b08d4ce8d454eb9d1ecc65c6d8b0c5f9784c

LiteCoin (LTC) - LKdsnvSXk9JW99EiNicFMGKc1FXiBo9tUE

DASH - XgZvsvSZgPkNbmGbRhc3S1Pt2JAc7QHwiS

PIVX - DA3azxQqJiX9t7EviuacpamfNhMi2zGAUh

Expanse (EXP) - 0x819b9cce8630ab638198eabfd7496786c20d629a

Monero (XMR) - d8ecb02c09f70ec10504b59b96bc1f488af28b05933893dfd1f55b113e23fbff

Stratis (STRAT) - SNsJp6v1jXvKWy4XcXSXfNQ9zhSJJppJgv

Synereo (AMP) - 1KnrL6wFHaT4gjJ2YJ5f6WmKTDJNsaBS8s

ZCash (ZEC) - t1aCPEYELkGaf3GtgGTiCEDo7XfPm4QEwmL



Please note -- I will have limited internet access for awhile -- so PLEASE do not be upset that I cannot reply right away, or to everyone. I am dealing with some changes, and will have limited time online and will be happy if I get a few blog posts up a week.
Sort:  

That early model is gorgeous! The detail and handcrafting made it a stand-out. (Love the lantern 'tail light'.) What kind of wood did they use for the dash? Looks like mahogany.

Never would've pegged you for a Caddy dude, but now I know the backstory, it makes sense!

Thanks again Deb. I UV this comment and you can put that towards your retirement lol.

I honestly don't know what wood was used, I have not asked the Fawcett's and have not researched it but good eye..... that has always stood out to me -- and I am a big fan of wood of all kinds and that includes when used responsibly in homes as well! (:

TY for stopping by, there are some posts I really just want you to see Eddie.

It caught my eye because my great-uncle had a boat that exact shade and it was mostly mahogany. Even the grain pattern seemed familiar. Plus, it would make sense they'd use high-end materials.

That was a great post! It's neat to see where and how a company like that started off.

And that one too LOL!!!

I've piloted a couple boats with the similar wood in them. It is a very warm feeling being around that much beautiful wood and brass etc.

His looked very similar to this one:


source

Smoothest ride on the water, no matter the chop.

general motors have alot of problem so i don't like it

Very cool car. Unfortunately GM announced last week that they are withdrawing from South Africa where I am staying!

A lot of the auto sector issues has to do generally with jobs and contracts and bargaining in many cases. I have been a labour activist as well supporting the working middle class and good blue collar jobs standing up for people and their jobs. I've been on the inside of many meetings related to this.

People wonder why I care, being self employed for nearly 30 years and selling houses... but if you read what I wrote just above -- that is just why. I have a social conscience.

Being self employed is best I think. Yes I think the withdrawal of GM has a lot to do with labour issues combined with low selling figures here in South Africa.

Cool man!
I like photo it...

Very nice vehicles!

Sweet rides in any model year LOL

Holly molly that Cadillac!

It is a beautiful example of craftsmanship my friend. It is art on wheels!

Thanks for stopping in, I was hoping you would like this post about a lovely vehicle mi amigo.

Nice photos of the Cadillac! Makes my car look like mickey mouse @barrydutton :P

LOL.

Have a good day at work!

Bahaha....yeah wishing I would be traveling and driving in a sweet ride! Well hope you're having fun @barrydutton !

you like it, right?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63178.17
ETH 2581.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71