The Life & Times of Barry Dutton | E.2 : Selling Real Estate since 1991 means Continuing Education courses... Here is a look inside the process in my area

in #life7 years ago (edited)

As a Real Estate salesperson in my province of Ontario in Canada - we have to renew our license to practice every 2 years along with various insurances and other relevant updates. This week I am renewing my license and taking the courses needed to process the application.

Not too many people get to see inside the process, so here is a look.

I am only showing a few screens of some basic course info, due to time constraints and privacy issues of course. About halfway thru the process today, I decided to stop and document some of the journey for you guys, since many people wonder what is involved in the real estate licensing process and ask us regularly or wonder about it.


I chose one of my Elective Credits here to take on ESA's - because I have done a lot of policy work and activism concerning the environment and using best practices in my personal life for stewardship and conservation of resources and trying to take care of the planet.
ESA's can be referred to as what you see below or for the Electrical Safety Authority and it is hard to confuse the 2. LOL
It also benefits my clients along the way knowing all the policy and work in those areas.


Here's 1 of the Mandatory courses all agents/salespeople/brokers must complete along the way, every 2 year reporting period before filing for renewal of professional licensing:

2-2017 - RECO Update Complete- screenshot 2-18-2017.jpg


I've worked with Developers along the way who like to use me, because of my experience working with and understanding governance and policy at critical levels which can save them time and money.

I am well known as a governance and policy advisory and activist at several levels of engagement.




I hope you enjoyed a little inside look at the Real Estate industry today. I do have to focus this week on courses, so my posts and replies will be way down but I am trying to do my best on both sides of the table.

If I get a good response to this insider look, I will consider putting up one more in the next day or so like it, comment if you would like to see a bit more!




If you feel my posts are undervalued or you want to donate to tip me - I would appreciate it very much.

Bitcoin (BTC) - 18J6RRuzX4V7b2CDbx7tWZYNBLkkGWsvWX

DASH - XgZvsvSZgPkNbmGbRhc3S1Pt2JAc7QHwiS

PIVX - DA3azxQqJiX9t7EviuacpamfNhMi2zGAUh

Monero (XMR) - d8ecb02c09f70ec10504b59b96bc1f488af28b05933893dfd1f55b113e23fbff

Ethereum (ETH) - 0x3Ad69Ff057C9533ca667B2d7E3E557F5eeFd4477

Ethereum Classic (ETC) - 0x5ab2b08d4ce8d454eb9d1ecc65c6d8b0c5f9784c

LiteCoin (LTC) - LKdsnvSXk9JW99EiNicFMGKc1FXiBo9tUE

Stratis (STRAT) - SNsJp6v1jXvKWy4XcXSXfNQ9zhSJJppJgv

Synereo (AMP) - 1KnrL6wFHaT4gjJ2YJ5f6WmKTDJNsaBS8s

Expanse (EXP) - 0x819b9cce8630ab638198eabfd7496786c20d629a

ZCash (ZEC) - t1aCPEYELkGaf3GtgGTiCEDo7XfPm4QEwmL


Please note -- I will have limited internet access for awhile -- so PLEASE do not be upset that I cannot reply right away, or to everyone. I am dealing with some changes, and will have limited time online and will be happy if I get a few blog posts up a week.

Sort:  
Resources in my Province for further info. / work on the ESA and related processes:

Well done, @barrydutton. You must have patience and passion in order to achieve what you have in life.

I am curious how much a license cost every two years? Does the Government gauge you or is it not too bad?

The gov't gouges people for everything, you know that LOL.

There is a lot of costs for licensing in general but specifically it is around $500 every year just for Professional Liability Insurance, which is required so you may as well count that as part of your license, you have to have it.

About $400/ 2 yr period for a Salesperson and about $550 for a Broker's license. If you own a Brokerage, then there are more fees on top for the Brokerage to remain licensed. The company is actually legally known as the "agent" --- most people do not know the terms / proper.

The courses for your license are extra as well. They used to be a few hundred dollars max for the 2 yr period but they have dropped now.

Believe me, the gov't agencies know how I feel about them, I have documented it in writing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63122.79
ETH 3119.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86