It's the 1st Long Weekend of the Year here in Canadastan. I was reminded of my last Bushcraft outing off the grid in the woods for a couple days & Making Bannock over the Campfire pics. Blue Collar Barry Worded!

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I have been aiming to get off grid for years but the Grid and the Government don't want you to leave their tax farms they need you in. I love being outside and being in nature and living off the land that the good Lord gave us and the government taketh away.

That's me again in the photo there. I can sleep 350 nites a year in a hammock, no problems with the proper gear and skills -- Read on!

All photos taken by me except a couple where I was in the shot and someone used my phone LOL.


Some of the basics, you boil your water in your stainless bottles, bandanas filter water, tie your hair back, clean your hands, hold things together, tie off a wound, tie off a tarp, you can burn them to start a fire, keep sun off you, a million things. The firestarter w the orange paracord is used to scrape to create sparks, at about 2000 degrees, to start fire and ignite things.

--



$10 cheap hammock plus your free tripod you process out of dead falls or other trees, if necessary. They are awesome, you can adjust how low you set the bottom bar too, in case you have injuries or a hard time getting up/down. Comfy.

--


Making bannock over the fire. Bannock is a simple, staple of the old ways... a simple form of bread. You can put things in it, anything you want, this had sugar and cinnamon in it. Basically 3 ingredients + a splash of water. If you want the Blue Collar Barry language recipe, read on my Off Grid friend!

--

--

That is my S/S cup drying over the fire and all the stuff you see on that grate is different shapes of bannock just cooking away. If you had meat, you could stick it in the bannock, or make your own hamburger buns, or cook weiners and stick them in there too.

Bannock Basics!


-- 4 cups - all purpose flour
-- 4 tablespoons baking powder
-- 2 cups water
-- 2 tablespoons sugar
-- 1 teaspoon salt
-- 1/4 cup vegetable oil

--

Mix those dry ingredients up! Do your own thing and be free to adjust sugar levels, or sub. brown sugar or other sweet ingredients, such as maybe blueberries, or fire some cinnamon in there! Honey is a liquid usually, so watch the moisture levels if you add some!

  • Oil isn't needed if you're watching the fat intake. Oil is harder to carry and creates a mess easily.

Add water CAREFULLY until mixture is kinda goopy. NOT TOO MUCH!! Slop that onto a baking pan or bushpot if you are outside like I was here, or onto a stick you find in the bush! Remember that Titanium has a much lower heating point, if you are using it in the bush or offgrid like many do nowadays.

Spread that out. Thin cooks a lot faster. You can knead the bannock before to placing on pan, but I don't like to get my fingers too sticky out in the woods on my outings, you always need to get into your pack, or use a knife, etc. I prefer to keep my hands as clean as possible in these settings for those reasons.

Poke holes with a stick or your beauty Titanium spork, & score down the middle if baked on a pan/bushpot. Or til brown on your stick like you see here. Don't get it right in the fire, it will burn, hold that bad boy up above the flame.

Bake till crust is brown and when poked, it comes out clean just like a cake.

Various toppings if you are so inclined, include lard, peanutbutter, butter, honey, jam, etc. Fire whatever you want on there!

If you are in the bush, you need fats and calories, so PB is always a smart choice for those off grid reasons.


Made about 15 tins of Char for firestarting. (:

--

--

You can char cotton or wood. You basically are creating your own charcoal, simply put. That's an Altoid tin you see, it has enough air gaps at the hinges or a tiny hole in the top, to offgas the stuff out when it is in the fire abut 10 mins, removing all the oxygen from the stuff in there, leaving you a ready to ignite dry piece of charcoal, essentially. Look up how to make char cloth if you like!

Organic Quinoa + Peas over the fire in my IKEA Stainless Steel kids kit! Bushcraft/OffGrid secret just revealed for ya!

--

--

The whole key to offgrid cook kits is getting all your gear to NEST perfectly like this does with my large S/S Klean Kanteen 2L bottles.

I took a pop top empty vitamin bottle with 2 svgs of the quinoa in it, and the organic peas in tupperware/gladware. They went together in one container, nesting, to save space and weight.

I also packed a large container filled with my veg. mix in another, and some other Nalgene water bottles filled with snacks etc. Again, stuffing things in other containers saves space and weight.

A stainless container filled with organic oatmeal/sugar/raisins in another. Put all the stuff in my travel pack insulated soft cooler, and a giant block of ice this day. I use one of my old plastic apple cider vinegar bottles filled with water and just keep it in the freezer.

  • No need to eat crappy just because you want to be off the grid lol. I think you would have liked my set up. Some tips from your Off Grid Blue Collar Barry buddy


Thanks for reading, have a nice day.




If you feel my posts are undervalued or you want to donate to tip me - I would appreciate it very much.

Bitcoin (BTC) - 18J6RRuzX4V7b2CDbx7tWZYNBLkkGWsvWX

Ethereum (ETH) - 0x3Ad69Ff057C9533ca667B2d7E3E557F5eeFd4477

Ethereum Classic (ETC) - 0x5ab2b08d4ce8d454eb9d1ecc65c6d8b0c5f9784c

LiteCoin (LTC) - LKdsnvSXk9JW99EiNicFMGKc1FXiBo9tUE

DASH - XgZvsvSZgPkNbmGbRhc3S1Pt2JAc7QHwiS

PIVX - DA3azxQqJiX9t7EviuacpamfNhMi2zGAUh

Expanse (EXP) - 0x819b9cce8630ab638198eabfd7496786c20d629a

Monero (XMR) - d8ecb02c09f70ec10504b59b96bc1f488af28b05933893dfd1f55b113e23fbff

Stratis (STRAT) - SNsJp6v1jXvKWy4XcXSXfNQ9zhSJJppJgv

Synereo (AMP) - 1KnrL6wFHaT4gjJ2YJ5f6WmKTDJNsaBS8s

ZCash (ZEC) - t1aCPEYELkGaf3GtgGTiCEDo7XfPm4QEwmL



Please note -- I will have limited internet access for awhile -- so PLEASE do not be upset that I cannot reply right away, or to everyone. I am dealing with some changes, and will have limited time online and will be happy if I get a few blog posts up a week.
Sort:  

@canadian-coconut -- you will like this post and these patches I think!

Bannock, good good.
Sweet things in it, even better

Then you went all quinoa!! Keenwa!! Who the hell are you and what did you do with Bazza!!!?!!

;0)

Bear Grylls kidnapped him.

Might be the comment of the nite sister O. LOL, Ah the Bear Grylls jokes in the Bushcraft community eh? hahaha

I was AFK for a few hours after this went up dealing with some things, I am home now!

Poor Bear Grylls and all the offgrid jokes about him eh? lol

Haha brother!!! I am a hippie man, you haveta remember this my friend!

I was AFK for a few hours after this went up dealing with some things, I am home now!

TY for stopping by, you are always a hoot my man.

I'm a hippy man too so I'll forgive ya ;0)

Did you see the BTC price in Canadastan update???????

This is nuts.

Boom, bust -- echo coming> so much wow.

I can see it in GBP and it's ridiculous!!!!

You should have seen the Scottish Tarn pyjama type pants I almost bought in the thrift store y-day, hahahahah, I was thinking of you man.

It's funny you should say that but pyjama pants are often tartan, why the fuck is that!!! :0)

Super impressive bush skills brother Barry! Love to see you use them Down Under in Australia!

You could carry me out of the woods broseph!!

Or walk on water where I'm going ... Galilee!

P.S. Just hit reputation 69 today :) I'm chasing ya! ....

Congrats buddy.

I was AFK for a few hours after this went up dealing with some things, I am home now!

You'll need to take care of the minnow business later on whilst I'm gone in transit later today! Keep them doggies rollin' bro'! :)

My camping motto: "I have all that I need".

Self reliance is a much needed skill. I agree with you there, looks like you had a great time over that weekend!

I did man, I need another outing. Bring your fancy RV and we will redneck it outside the idiot mayor's house here LOL

LOL, well, if I can get to making some money to pay off a ticket I have just might be able to do that, wife wants to move out of here, and she has been working 2 jobs to make the money to leave. My job will start end of the month. So lets see what is in the cards in the near future! So, for now we are working on the plans of what will be our future!

Such good ideas! Can hardly wait to go camping so I can try them! Thanks, Barry :)

Ah, one of the best names on Steemit checks in, my friend @bitsy !! LOL

TY for stopping by today my friend!

I make my willow charcoal with a similar technique.

That is awesome to know Miss O!

You just have to remember this stuff all picks up moisture after the fact so store it accordingly. I think it is neat you make some stuff like this.

I put in close to 200 nights in the hammock last year right up til near Christmas.... I had a couple thermal leaks in my sleep system I could not pinpoint where they were so that is the only reason I came in for a few nites hahahaha!

Awesome, glad you got out for the long weekend, going to have to make me some Bannock one of these days!

Simple is good!!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63237.60
ETH 2647.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81