2 Years ago today my dad died. Things were not easy in my family, but he was my dad. I don't discuss family or personal matters much. STEEMIT EXCLUSIVE ONLY Content.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I still appreciate all the good and proper things my folks did for me, or taught me.

All the hockey practices & games around Ontario and the USA, all the other sports I played which took a lot of time and money, the baseball - the Provincial level running and track, all the gear..... the shoes, LOL.


All those things...... it helps form part of who you are. The roots, the morals and lessons........

It all does.

He hauled cars for a living, was a farmer before that, which most of my family roots in Canada come from.


My friend went with me one of the days to the hospital since I was there a lot and actually fed my dad his last meal just before he passed away very early the next morning. He is the one who took these photos - most when I was not looking. He can be good that way.


My one brother was the executor and he is a terrible human being. I was left out of all the decisions he should have, and could have included me in but such is life in my family.

He was not the one left in town, looking after our dad the last days and checking on him all the time, since my house was a couple mins. away from the hospital and my dad's condo.

I was never invited to get any of my dad's things that I could keep for remembrance or things I had given/collected/bought for him over the years.

I discuss more of what I believe to be Family Values below.

It is just nice to finally get some of this off my chest and be real about it, I don't need to make anything up, the truth is stranger and worse than fiction in my family.

I have nearly 30 years in Real Estate and he of course opted not to list my dad's condo with me, and right as soon as he got into town, when my dad was admitted, he changed the locks on the condo, rendering the key I had carried with me for 35 years, useless and decided not to tell me.


He hated this mask, he was fiercely independent til his last days, which you are seeing here. I have never shared any of this stuff publicly and certainly not the photos.


Locally around town, and via my activism circles, I am known as Blue Collar Barry and that has carried over here to Steemit to some degree here and there.

I am a regular guy, who has had enough of the corrupt government systems and mindsets and police statism and said ENOUGH --- and fought back to help and wake people up - in this broken, awful system we are forced to deal with day after day.

Blue Collar roots amen.


I did not come from a good or loving / kind / understanding / encouraging family.

I know this, and I do not run from it. I do not bash them a lot. I do not run from the facts, or the lessons that abuse and general lack of goodness many people have in their families.

Rather, I look for it in others and try to keep those lessons close to my heart, so I can avoid paying that stuff back out to people and try and be the opposite.

It is what it is, I am a plainly spoken, truthful, matter of fact guy. I try to not pay out evil for the evil I have seen in my life.


Try and be nice and kind to people and family. Everyone can use kindness, understanding and encouragement in their lives, believe me.


-- My dad never understood my activism but he got a kick out of the fact I learned what I did, applied it publicly and ran for city council.

(:

He never ever said he was proud of me, but I know a few times, he was.


This is literally an old truck from the company he hauled cars for, for 27 yrs. -- It was in a local parade and is from the era my dad worked there. I was at the parade and was stunned to see this truck roll by.

I actually delivered papers to Frank McCallum who started this company, he was a good old dude.


I found the Lord in 2003 and travelled across the country likely 20,000 kms or so one year, visiting at, and ministering at bible colleges and seminaries along the way, which was me looking for bible colleges hands on. It turned into a lot more.

My dad hated anything spiritual and religious, I think something was forced on him in his early days on the farm as a kid --- this is me just being worn out and fatigued, but saying a little prayer.


Thanks for reading, have a nice day.








If you liked this blog post - please Resteem it and share good content with others!

--

Some of my recent blogs:

--

https://steemit.com/steemitcampfire/@barrydutton/steemitcampfire-series-weekend-12-is-tonight-just-a-reminder-and-runs-all-weekend-again-starts-in-a-few-hours-consider

https://steemit.com/steemit/@barrydutton/steemit-needs-series-please-comment-with-your-ideas-to-improve-steemit-or-e-10-or-july-20th-2017-or-community-engagement-or

https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@barrydutton/localbitcoins-com-official-statement-regarding-the-possible-hard-fork-on-aug-1-2017

https://steemit.com/life/@barrydutton/liberty-meme-of-the-day-i-m-long-on-liberty-like-most-of-you-show-me-your-best-liberty-meme-or-gif-today

https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@barrydutton/lbry-credits-site-is-finally-live-the-emails-went-out-to-holders-users-today-lbry-credits-101-and-info-overview-video-also-here

https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@barrydutton/crypto-101-or-video-just-released-andreas-antonopoulous-bitcoin-q-and-a-the-revolution-in-trust-6-mins-super-practical-resource


If you feel my posts are undervalued or you want to donate to tip me - I would appreciate it very much.

Bitcoin (BTC) - 18J6RRuzX4V7b2CDbx7tWZYNBLkkGWsvWX

DASH - XgZvsvSZgPkNbmGbRhc3S1Pt2JAc7QHwiS

PIVX - DA3azxQqJiX9t7EviuacpamfNhMi2zGAUh

Expanse (EXP) - 0x819b9cce8630ab638198eabfd7496786c20d629a

Monero (XMR) - d8ecb02c09f70ec10504b59b96bc1f488af28b05933893dfd1f55b113e23fbff

Ethereum (ETH) - 0x3Ad69Ff057C9533ca667B2d7E3E557F5eeFd4477

Ethereum Classic (ETC) - 0x5ab2b08d4ce8d454eb9d1ecc65c6d8b0c5f9784c

LiteCoin (LTC) - LKdsnvSXk9JW99EiNicFMGKc1FXiBo9tUE

Stratis (STRAT) - SNsJp6v1jXvKWy4XcXSXfNQ9zhSJJppJgv

Synereo (AMP) - 1KnrL6wFHaT4gjJ2YJ5f6WmKTDJNsaBS8s

ZCash (ZEC) - t1aCPEYELkGaf3GtgGTiCEDo7XfPm4QEwmL



Please note -- I will have limited internet access for awhile -- so PLEASE do not be upset that I cannot reply right away, or to everyone. I am dealing with some changes, and will have limited time online and will be happy if I get a few blog posts up a week.
Sort:  

You were there when it mattered. That's what counts. That's a keepsake no one can take away from you.

Condolences, bud.

This was a hard post to write for me and took a lot out of me, so I am just writing a basic message back today, to thank everyone that took time to comment on this or vote for it, I really appreciate it, I just don't have much more to say on the issue.

Thank you very much for the support.

Hugs, bud! Take a breath, be very proud of yourself, go have a nap...

and then raid the nearest pizza joint. You earned 'em.

(:

You are more a sister to me than the 2 blood ones I have.

These pictures choke me up a bit, reminding me of my grandfathers. Neither of them were fond of their masks either.

Be it watching a loved one in their final days, or dealing with members that ignore your best interests, family can be difficult. It sounds like you're making the most with what you're given though.

Thank you for sharing this personal moment.

This was a hard post to write for me and took a lot out of me, so I am just writing a basic message back today, to thank everyone that took time to comment on this or vote for it, I really appreciate it, I just don't have much more to say on the issue.

Thank you very much for the support.

To lose a loved one is the hardest thing we have to do on this earth. Your brother took worldly things from your Dad, but you got to have the most precious last times with him. That has value till eternity and is priceless. Cherish that and let go any hurtful feelings, forgive and have peace that will surpass all understanding. Shalom!

This was a hard post to write for me and took a lot out of me, so I am just writing a basic message back today, to thank everyone that took time to comment on this or vote for it, I really appreciate it, I just don't have much more to say on the issue.

Thank you very much for the support.

Incredibly touching. Those 3 pictures with your father are so priceless. Your words also touched me very dearly...

Thanks my man.....

This was a hard post to write for me and took a lot out of me, so I am just writing a basic message back today, to thank everyone that took time to comment on this or vote for it, I really appreciate it, I just don't have much more to say on the issue.

Thank you very much for the support.

I had the same thing happend to me, but you were there when it counted!!

This was a hard post to write for me and took a lot out of me, so I am just writing a basic message back today, to thank everyone that took time to comment on this or vote for it, I really appreciate it, I just don't have much more to say on the issue.

Thank you very much for the support.

We all family here brother, no judgement just love. Sorry about your father, hard to have a parent die.

This was a hard post to write for me and took a lot out of me, so I am just writing a basic message back today, to thank everyone that took time to comment on this or vote for it, I really appreciate it, I just don't have much more to say on the issue.

Thank you very much for the support.

I feel you my friend...I lost my dad too last year September...very painful indeed. However, at last our loved ones are in a better place -no more pain. Bless you

This was a hard post to write for me and took a lot out of me, so I am just writing a basic message back today, to thank everyone that took time to comment on this or vote for it, I really appreciate it, I just don't have much more to say on the issue.

Thank you very much for the support.

Same here too. Was hard for me to comment because I am in the same situation. Bless you

You have brought tears to my eyes.
That picture is lovely.
I'm glad that you have chosen not to dwell on the painful parts of your past, but look forward and make a good difference in the world.

Thanks Linda, honestly.

This was a hard post to write for me and took a lot out of me, so I am just writing a basic message back today, to thank everyone that took time to comment on this or vote for it, I really appreciate it, I just don't have much more to say on the issue.

Thank you very much for the support.

This was a hard post to write for me and took a lot out of me, so I am just writing a basic message back today, to thank everyone that took time to comment on this or vote for it, I really appreciate it, I just don't have much more to say on the issue.

Thank you very much for the support.

My dad passed away in February and your pictures made me a bit sad. I am sorry for your loss and I hope that you find peace putting it all in writing.

This was a hard post to write for me and took a lot out of me, so I am just writing a basic message back today, to thank everyone that took time to comment on this or vote for it, I really appreciate it, I just don't have much more to say on the issue.

Thank you very much for the support.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66498.47
ETH 3469.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62