'Tis the season

in #life7 years ago

My life is not terribly exciting. I'm a homebody and make no apologies for preferring to stay home over any sort of nightlife or social engagements.
But, here we are at the end of the year. The time when invitations tend to roll in pretty steadily. Not only that, but Hubs and I have our wedding anniversary thrown in with all the hullaballooh.
This year, we saw that the band Postmodern Jukebox was going to be performing at a venue just a couple hours away. We decided to treat ourselves to a little overnight adventure in Worcester, as an anniversary celebration.
I've never been to Worcester...it never offered anything I needed to drive 2 hours to get to!
We left as soon as I got home, so we were pretty ready for food once we finally arrived at 4 pm. There was a Mexican restaurant right across the street, and I was ready for a stiff drink!
pmjtequila.jpg
After dinner we had a few minutes to change and for me to grab a drink for the road. We brought a bottle of wine with us, so I took advantage of the travel cups in the room.
pmjroadie.jpg
It wasn't a bad night for a walk.
pmjstreet.jpg
I was surprised by how beautiful the theater was!
pmjtheater.jpg
We weren't sure what the photography policy was, but a woman came over the loudspeaker to inform us that 'photography is prohibited'...sad.
But then LaVance Colley got on stage to inform us that they would love for us to take pictures, but asked that we use the tag #pmjtour when posting to social media. Then promptly posed for us.
pmjLaVance.jpg
Robyn Adele Anderson opened the show.
pmjRobyn.jpg
We got the amazing Vonzell Solomon
pmjVonzell.jpg
Tapping from Alex McDonald (on the opposite side of the stage and hard to get a good picture of, unfortunately)
pmjAlex.jpg
Of course, it's not PMJ without Von Smith
pmjVon.jpg
Dani Armstrong was amazing
pmjDani.jpg
I tend to be mesmerized by the musicians, having spent my school years, from 5th grade straight through the performance on my high school graduation day.
Ben Golder-Novick on sax and clarinet
pmjBen.jpg
Chip Tomas on drums
pmjChip.jpg
Reggie Watkins on trombone
pmjReggie.jpg
The crazy bass, Nimrod Speaks (from my seat he was hidden behind the piano, so this was the only good picture I got of him)
pmjTrioMusicians.jpg
And, the piano, Hasan Sharik
pmjHasan.jpg

pmjTrio.jpg
The next morning we left pretty early. We were eager to get home to our old girl, Moxie.
Good morning and good-bye, Worcester.
pmjView.jpg
Good morning and hello again, Cape Cod.
pmjHome.jpg

Sort:  

This looks like a wonderful night out and I LOVE PMJ! Walking with wine, how Las Vegas ;)

haha! I drink surprisingly little while in Vegas ...probably so I don't lose my shirt: literally or figuratively! ;)

Looks like a really nice mini-vacation and evening out!

Yes! It definitely was.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57213.13
ETH 2415.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40