You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: You're Not Good Enough To Be Disappointed.

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Greetings @pangoli, @crypto.piotr asked me to comment here, so I'll share some of my thoughts.

Firstly I personally reject the notion of imperfection or 'work-in-progress' as a standard of comparison between human beings (eg the professional and the 'non' professional). Having said that, I think I agree with certain points, if not the implications that are drawn from them!

Disappointment only comes when ....... we do not get what we expected. At such times, you feel things are not working despite all of the hard work you've put in.

False expectations of basing the future on the past or wishful thinking based on fantasy, leads to disappointment, agree. I disagree that hard work makes a difference - if the expectation is based on fantasy, one will only be working harder towards something that isn't achievable and therefore the disappointment will be greater. Hard work is no fun. Intense effort (another way of looking at the notion of 'hard work') need not be 'hard work' if one is truly engaged. In other words if I'm trying to do something then I just do not know how to do it (else I would be doing it and not 'trying to do it') - and the more I try to do it, the less I am able to. I can stand back and see the issue if I am not so caught up in my expectations (or desires, hopes, fears etc), but to do this, I need to stop for a moment, to pause. If I am constantly comparing myself to others - ie success is a measure against other people - then I am never going to pause and will be forever scrambling and stressed (disappointed).

I like the tone of encouragement in your post, but I am not comfortable with the labels of good and bad. I consider everyone utterly unique and therefore beyond realistic comparibility. When we try and become something/someone other by comparing ourselves negatively to something/someone else, then we are distorting our nature in order to achieve something (wealth, status, fame and all the other empty promises of 'success').

I consider every moment to be in and of itself perfect. Nature never makes aesthetic mistakes - does a leaf on a tree ever look out of place? I consider an attempt to control or influence this already existing perfection (or state of 'success') an attempt to distort what is 'natural', instead of seeing, accepting it and utilising it for self-expansion as a natural by-product of conscious living.

Sort:  

Dear @barge

Great to hear from you. I didn't "see" you in a while.

Im sorry for sending you memo. I now remember you asked me not to do so. I will do my best to remember not to bother you in the future. Thx for your patience and understanding.

But Im glad you decided to share your view with us. Amazing read.

Yours
Piotr

I applaud your views and perspective to this discourse. Gives a whole new interpretation to it all which makes this post and comment section a real value mine. Lots to discover for everyone who is reading. Thank you for your input. Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60007.10
ETH 2415.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41