You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Struggle With Body Dysmorphia As A Male

in #life8 years ago

This post was very inspiring to me because of the honesty and true expression of yourself. I never had "body dysmorphia" like you but I have had a similar experience with girls in my teens.

I was shy, quiet, and very awkward. With my friends group that I hung out with would have a mix between girls and guys. The girls found me "creepy" cause when I felt attracted to them and saw them I would just stare in a way that made them feel weird. While everyone else in the group was "hooking up" I was alone. It was very hard for me for a long time.

At one point I realized that I had a guilt complex about being a dominant man towards women. I realized this was created when I was young by my all women family (my grandma, 3 aunts, all 3 girl cousins). They were constantly complaining about men and very unsatisfied with there relationships. I would talk/listen among them about men being womanizer, lazy and all they want is sex(etc.). I internalized this and shaped myself in a way that was opposite towards a strong dominant man. I have literally caught myself, when im not thinking, clenching, compressing and pulling my abdomen backwards into myself.

As I have realized this I've started accepting myself more as a man. As I go through this process I find women being attracted to me more and more over time. I still stare and smile at women I find attractive but now they respond with attraction the majority of time. The difference is that now I confidently push my chest out, stretch out my abdomen and I walk/stand tall whenever I can; When catch my self with my old habit and pulling my body inward, I just push it back out again. With this new comparability I have I do some of the exact same things as before, except with positive results. If you have any other questions or want more tips on what helped me with the change I would be happy to help. Keep up the strong expressive feelings within your post, cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59889.02
ETH 2673.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46