There Is A Better You ! #3: Stop Watching TV !

in #life7 years ago

TIABY3.png

Ask the question to yourself : why are you watching TV ? Is my life would be better without it ? Here is my point of view !

I remember when I was young I could definitely stay hours in front of TV. So many ‘interesting’ things to watch : shows, games, sport, movies … And honestly what I remember of all this time spent on TV is close to 0 !

Now I’m over 30, I realize … what a waste of time ! All the time spent in front of TV was no more and no less than losing my time with garbage things.

TV is not made to make you learn something (except rare case like documentary on BBC, National Geographic ...) but to make you stay in front of it for watching advertising.

The average time spent on TV in the world is really huge:

  • Usa - 4h30
  • Europe - 4h
  • Asia - 2h30

What do you see in retirement home ? TV because it’s cheap and it catches easily attention of people. Recent studies show however that young generations are more picky than older ones because of the rise of internet, smartphones, VOD, youtube, …

You don’t have any adblock for the TV. The consumer society is built on people’s attention to advertise on TV, Internet, billboards … This is in a way what diverts your attention of having a much better lifestyle : they want you to buy ! buy ! buy ! like zombies. This is the kind of things that change your behaviour for eating junk food instead of healthy one.

freedom.jpg

Free yourself ! You have so many options opening to you as soon as you stop tv : reading a book, catching with some friends, attending events, learning new skills (music, programming, new language).

Now I have more time for my personal projects. I get used to read a lot more, do more sport, and learning a new programming language. For beginning just focus on replacing TV by another activity, then you’ll discover that you will still get more time for another activity, then another, and so on ! This is a truly virtuous circle !

As I’ve already said in my previous article here about staying positive, I explained that you need to stop watching TV because of news :

When you see news on TV, what are the main subjects ? Terrorist attacks, wars, murders … Most of the time you see 99% of time negative events. The TV news are very stressful and have a chaotic impact on your behaviour.

If you want to know more on the subject go here

Don't hesitate to give me your feedbacks in comments ! Have you already stopped watching TV ?

Also, don’t hesitate to follow me for more awesome article !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67904.70
ETH 3244.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66