Trying things

in #life7 years ago

Hi fellow Steemians just a random story here,

This saturday on the first of july I had planned to go attend a local workshop in electronic music production. Take in mind that this was totally free.
I'd heard about this event on facebook where one of my friends had taken interest in it. It took my immediate attention since I spend quite a decent amount of time trying to produce music.

However somehow the idea of going there initially came of as scary. But as I shared the event with some friends I got some reaction and eventually 4 friends were ready to join. (Later on only 1 of them happened to be present after the rough night we had the day before.)

The workshop took place in a local youth bar in the afternoon somewhere around my area. I caught up with this friend, went to the youth bar. There were only 3 guys, one of which would leave in 10 minutes. So when we arrived it seemed that nobody really had showed up yet, even though the workshop started 3 hours ago. Anyways, they were happy to see people showing up and at first they even thought we were only passing by to grab a beer.

Very soon the 2 guys came to realize we were there actually there with no expectations whatsoever just hoping that we could maybe learn something new or pick up some idea's. They honestly said that they didn't have any idea that anyone would show up, but they were happy to share what they had to offer. They had brought their music equipment to showcase, explain what it offered.

One of them asked if I brought any of my own stuff so I took out my laptop, turned on some of my latest project. While it was playing on some nice monitors they immediately corrected some of learner's mistakes.
I made some key improvements that maybe I could have figure out myself someday down the road... but heck these guys were teaching me so much value lessons in such a short period of time. The lessons they had to learn themselves from years practicing, reviewing, playing on gigs, while constantly making these mistakes and learning from them.

They were excited and ready to share their knowledge and experience gathered through years of playing around, with such joy, just in the hope that their thoughts can be anyone of help.

I really felt happy that day going home, knowing that I could've missed out on an opportunity like this. I'm feeling that it's not only me thinking of these events as if there are people judging you somehow. Maybe some other people had the same initial fear I had. If you think you might learn something that might help you achieve your dreams. Just give it a shot. You never know what might happen. Best case you learn something out of it make some new connections, worst case scenario you lose some of your precious time (oh no..). I will certainly be doing this more often!

Just explore people! There's always people in your area who'll have the same interests as you and are ready to talk about it! Sometimes you only need a little push in the back from some likeminded people when you're trying to achieve something that is not evident. Just wait for the right opportunity, or maybe try to engage in taking action yourself! The act of trying to improve will leave you a better, happier person than when you woke up.

Hope you get something out of it! Peace!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 64863.39
ETH 3196.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53