If your boss in an organization doesn't do justice to you, how do you deal with it?

in #life5 years ago

View this answer on Musing.io

This is definitely a brilliant question. I have been in such situations in my job. Doing injustice to the subordinates may not always be a cautious decision a manager takes. It can either happen out of mistake or because of an organizational change. But these are things that can really de-motivate an individual and it definitely needs fixing. According to me, we have to choose the right boss instead of choosing a right company. If our boss is well and good, we will not be having any issues in climbing the ladder in the company or showcasing our skills. 

I have had issues with my boss two years back. It was quite unfortunate that I had to work under that boss with no enthusiasm at all. That was really a practical experience for me to understand that a good boss is really more important than a good project or good company. The project that I was working on was really interesting and it was a great experience for me. But the only problem I had in the project was dealing my boss. It was a horrible experience. The decisions that he used to make really ended up messing so many things that I had to sit and fix. I was completely unhappy with that and that is how things went. The only thing where I found amusement was that the project was really very interesting. 

Communication with the boss

I would like to share my personal experience on this aspect before I share generic things. When I had issues with my boss, the first thing that I always did was to call him to a meeting room and openly discuss what is his issue. Upon multiple conversations I found that he had some fundamental issues with the project and he was really finding it hard to manage multiple projects at the same time. He used to erupt for things that were not brought to his notice. But the point was he never reads his emails properly and all the information that he would have been looking for would have already been there in those emails. In my case I had many one to one conversations with my boss to sort out things. Whatever the issue is, I don't hesitate to call him to a meeting room and discuss. 

I believe good way to handle a tough boss is through frequent updates and frequent communications. In my case it helped because my boss wanted to be on top of every situation. I understood that I copied him on all the email communications just to make sure that he is finding it comfortable. There is no harm in keeping your boss in loop. But on things that you are having trouble, it is always good to have a one on one meeting with the boss. Individual meetings can really be very productive and give real focus towards the problem and the individual. Sometimes listing out the problem that we have in the team also becomes easier if we have frequent communications with the boss. 

Changing your team

In my situation I found that my boss was definitely not doing justice me and he was not very helpful. At one point in spite of having multiple one on one conversations with my boss, I understood that things will not be right this way. I ended up changing to a different team to a different role. I completely understand this may not be an option for everyone. I was lucky to have this option to change to a different team to a different role and project. After the change I felt a great relief and my head started to cool down. I really felt that it was one good decision that I made. Even if there are no options inside the company, I'm sure there are several opportunities outside and there are so many companies with good managers who will not exhaust you. If you are really skillful, opportunities will definitely reach you and you don't have to break your head with such managers. Even if you are not skilful, there are always many ways to find the right opportunity. 

I will definitely recommend this solution to others as well. There is no use in fighting with a boss who is not doing justice to you. Communications can happen and it may even bring change but it is not going to last forever. I would say that changing the team can really be a great relief for people. It is always not the company that takes importance but the boss to whom we work is important. I have seen so many people finding the same boss more comfortable. But I couldn't play the game any further. If you ask me, I would say that choosing the right boss is important than choosing the company or the nature of work that we are going to do. For some nature of work and some people this can be challenging. But I think that is the way to go. 

Image Source: Pixabay.com

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by bala41288 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62796.11
ETH 3045.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85