How to get rid of negative thoughts?

in #life6 years ago (edited)

View this answer on Musing.io

I have gone through the same phase several times in my life. Every time I think about eradicating negative thoughts it keeps growing as you mentioned. I learnt a great lesson from one of my friends and I also took a dialogue from the movie Dr. Strange, very serious. First I would like to brief the conversation that I had with my friend. Maybe you can find some clue or get some idea from the details that I provide.

Conversation with my friend

Once when I was quite confused with my life, I was looking for answers everywhere. Though I was not ready to share what exactly was my problem with others, I was continuously looking forward to get some answers from any sources. That is when I had a great conversation with my friend. The origin of the conversation and context of the conversation was completely different. But I managed to get some good outcome out of the conversation. He is someone who is working hard staying in Saudi even though his origin is from Chennai, India. The conversation started like how his job was going and he started giving explanations and more details about his success story. 

He told me that when he graduated, he tried lots of interviews and he was not selected because of his negatives. He used to wonder if he should be converting all his negatives to positive. But the strategy that he took was to focus more on his positives instead of focusing on negatives and taking efforts to convert negatives to positives. He told me that he worked really hard on things that was very easy for him. He exhibited what he was good at and he got an opportunity for that and from then on he focused completely on his positives alone. I really don't know why that conversation happened but it was really fruitful for me and I had a huge take away from that conversation. Now he is someone with great success rate in his career. 

Dialogue from Dr. Strange movie

There is one particular dialogue in the movie that affected me so much. When I watched the movie for the first time, this dialogue created a great impact on me. The dialogue is "We don't lose our demons, we just learn to live above them." This was so strong on me. I was able to relate it with what I was doing. I used to worry a lot about my negatives and try to work on them really hard to get rid of them. But it was definitely not working out. Inside my heart I always had a feeling that negatives cannot be completely eradicated. This dialogue from the movie really proved it. Maybe the phrase in which the dialogue projects the truth is very strong and made me think that it is true. 

What did I learn?

From both the above incidents, I understood that we should not be focusing more on the negatives. We have to focus more on our positives and try to amplify them. If we are already good at something, it is easy to become a master on that. Instead if we focus on something that we are not good at, we are completely ruining our life because we will not be able to excel even gradually. Even if we excel, it can take lots of time. 

On a final note, I feel that you should stop focusing on your negative thoughts and fuel your thinking on something that you are really good at and the one that really motivates you. This will definitely make you a better person. Other alternative ways would be to keep yourself focused more on the positive things:

  • Get sufficient sleep 
  • Try to stay with people who motivate you
  • If you are getting these thoughts when you are alone, try not to be alone. 
  • Find a way to accept your negative thoughts

Image Source: Pixabay.com

Sort:  

Physical work does a lot of good both to body and mind. Try to do hard work and be active always.

A busy bee will never find time for sorrows. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58399.10
ETH 2475.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38