My deGooglization is shaping up

in #life7 years ago

The first thing I did was stop using Google Search. I no longer felt it was possible to trust their searches to find things I needed to Googlexit. Every day I see more things that Google forbids.

But I was a google fanboy, and have a million things to get replaced, from software to hardware, operating systems to SkyMap. I have all of their services, use all of their apps, and regrettably, recommended their products to many others. I was a early user/adopter of most of their big developments like Chrome, Ingress, Chromebooks (I bought 4 as gifts for others) all the way back to the first gmail and google forums.

But now I'm pulling out. I think I am about 1/4 of the way there numerically, with the largest things going first, but maybe 90% there judging by usage.

Chrome > Brave Browser
ChromeOS > Linux
Maps > Mapquest > offline maps
I have a new email, but I think I will keep Gmail at least until I run out of cards and letterheads
The big software thing will be Linux for Android, still messing around with it.

But mostly it was Google Plus

I have let go 5000 followers by dropping them, and it's hard. A couple of long time friends have either followed me to Gab or made an account here, but so far few are really active in either. Internet friends are fickle.

I also dropped 99% of FaceBook. Family and a few people I've known for decades in RL.

So what am I doing instead?

Gab.ai, as I said
Trying out BitChute and Dtube, although I don't have a lot of video content yet
I'm going to be using Steemit for middle length content, probably a very short form on Gab, followed by a short essay here.
I also have been messing around with Akasha and Lbry, but I don't know if those are going anywhere.

Ple3ase feel free to recommend or ask about ways of getting free of censorship based outlets.

Free Speech should be the guidepost of the next few years.


Sort:  

Interesting article, thank you for your opinion!

I've been using Brave as my primary browser for about 1 1/2 years. I never liked Chrome because it always seemed bloated, and it took over my entire PC, even when it was ostensibly closed. There are a few sites that Brave still has trouble with. When I run into one of those, I use Maxthon or Edge as alternatives.

I've used Maxthon on and off since the early 2000s,when it used to be MYIE2. It has some features that I've never seen elsewhere, but it also feels a bit bloated. Maxthon with the FB Purity add-on is awesome for Facebook.

I'm also testing out Pale Moon, another chromium based browser. I do miss some of the Chrome extensions, like Lazarus to auto save text form/dialog box content .

F.B.Purity is the only reason I can stand to visit FB at all.

I was just thinking about you yesterday... I hope you are well!

Glad the Google Exodus is going well :) I was exodusing a bit ago too but I'm pretty much down to tools for jobs now. I could just about abandon G+, I don't think anyone would really notice now considering all I'm doing these days is just spamming AER stuff and the occasional music video from Youtube.

So I'm still playing Ingress and using Maps as far as usage goes, though I may have another look at Open Street Map again as it's been a while and they must have gotten better by now (they weren't bad before but not so good at directions). And I'm looking at self-hosting my videos (I did look before but got lazy plus they take up a lot of space).

I'm finding Linux a right pain in the system -_- If you were able to do everything you needed on ChromeOS you probably won't have any problems with it. The phone is a little bit harder though apparently if you get one of those OnePlus phones you can just about run it as a computer (I have a friend I can ask about it as he was saying something about putting linux on that phone). Me I'm seriously considering going Apple for the computer and the phone again.

I will probably keep android on my main phone, but I kept all my old phones and tablets and use them as small networked computers around the house. Some guy told me that it would be better on Linux, since it allows control over the network, but I don't know if I have that much learning curve left in me.

You are a brave man, my friend...

The task of migrating is a daunting one. I am glad to see these alternatives rising.

Perhaps you and some other courageous souls who are pioneering the departure from abusive "services" can leave the rest of us a roadmap? ;)

😄😇😄

@creatr

New things are popping up all over. I really hope something like bitchute can incorporate "Dtube" and join us on the Steem blockchain. Torrent based video/images/articles with blockchain reference links.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97