If I'm retired, why am I so busy?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life8 years ago (edited)

There was an excuse when I was going to school. A couple of years into my retirement I decided to finally go get the degree I had always said I would get when the pressures of work and family were no longer so intrusive. They never did get less intrusive until both work and family were gone.

So I started back to college and it was a fun kind of busy. I tutored a bunch of really nice young adults and had fun with most of my instructors and now I can say that I am a Biological Anthropologist... at least to some degree... I won't ever actually do any work in the field.

Six to ten miles of walking the campus every day was a nice thing all in itself.

But now that's done and I really have no reason to do anything if I don't want to. But I guess I do want to, like, I want to have groceries in the house. As soon as I am done here I am going to want clean dishes.

But I also want to post and read on Steemit and a couple of other social networks find me on G+ here.. I just now get ready to make dinner. Seems like it was breakfast just a few minutes ago. And this is not one of my busy days, I have days that are scheduled to help some guys I know who are between houses, days I talk to language partners in India and Japan, laundry days where I try to be social with the ladies in my building without becoming someone's husband again. It's a busy life!

No wonder they call it retirement, every time I get a little rest, something comes up and I get re-tired all over again.


To improve the community and the value of STEEM,
Post and vote for creative, original work that you like.


Please try my Future History stories - Enmity


Sort:  

"There are only so many games of golf and so many hands of card I can play. Even though I'm retired my mind still needs stimulation." ~Lee Iacocca

My mother just retired after 41 years at the same job. She says she is now busier than ever before!

I actually prefer to be busy, even if that means being busy alone in the house. I've already had more than enough time for personal reflection etc, I want to feel like I'm getting something done. A lot of the older folks in my neighborhood seem to feel the same... lots of things going on.

I imagine I would be the same way. I cannot sit down and idly waste time. There is too much to get done.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Nov 30. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $4.37 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 30 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59592.00
ETH 2545.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54