Checking On The Chickens

in #life7 years ago

As the days wind down I always make one final trip to the chicken coop each evening to check on the chickens.  We had a catastrophe last year when a raccoon made its way into our coop and made a buffet out of our flock.  Sadly, raccoons will kill chickens and waste most all of the meat....It's almost as if they have nothing better to entertain themselves with than causing destruction.  I have made several upgrades to the coop since that day, and I am confident that it is a safe resting place for our new birds.  However, I still feel the need to check on them throughout the day.  We have had our new flock for about a month now and soon it will be time to let them out to explore the world around them.  I look forward to the eggs that will be provided in the months to come!

We have 16 chickens in all, but some of them seem to be camera shy.... I am not sure what breed the black one is.  It was included as a rare breed with our order.

Our previous bunch of hens were all Rhode Island Reds, so we decided to try out Buff Orpingtons this time around.  We'll see how good they are at laying eggs.....

If you liked this update on our little homestead, please comment, Upvote, resteem & follow @backrdadventures.

"Back Roads Adventures"

- Any day in the outdoors is a good day!

Sort:  

Ahhh they are so cute in their awkward teenager phase!! Love their little faces!

Thanks for checking out my post!

I was wondering what breed the black one was too. You are gonna love your Orpingtons. Since introducing them into my flock I haven't had to buy chicks. The Orpingtons have been very broody and hatched many chicks for me. I'll be watching for updates on the little black one.

Thanks for the information and thanks for checking out my post!

Coming right along....Surprising how fast they grow

These are the first chickens we have raised from chicks and the speed at which they grow is truly amazing....
Thanks for checking out my post!

nice looking chicks! We are thinking about getting Rhode Island Reds next spring, would you recommend them?

I would definitely recommend Rhode Island Reds....especially if you like brown eggs. They are great layers!
Thanks for checking out my post!

no problem sir, I upvoted and followed as well. Looking forward to seeing more posts from you. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 55629.86
ETH 2914.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28