Do you worry about your skin color when you leave your home?

in #life7 years ago (edited)

So this is a question I have wanted to know the answer to for a while.

No matter your skin color, but it can depend on where you live - do you worry or even consider your skin color before leaving your home?

The only times I have ever worried/been concerned with my skin color (white) was going to an all black event or while living in an all black community.
The community was already a bad one, with drugs - tagging and violence already but I felt more as a target whenever leaving the house as a white skinned person.
When going to an event, where the event was 95% black or even when I was the only one such as a friends wedding- the thought crossed my mind twice, once before leaving to the venue that I was going to be the only white person there and then once while I was there being the only white person in a room of thousands.

Those were very rare events and happened for myself when I was the age of around 13-16, but now I am past that and the thought doesn't cross my mind. Sometimes I will be on public transport where i'm the only white person and I do think oh cool i'm the only white person but I don't think into it further than that. It's not a concern or a worry.

The only feeling that comes close to that is when I am under dressed for an event - and honestly that feeling is pretty similar.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66149.79
ETH 3275.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71