New project, anxiety galore...

in #life5 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemians,

Road to freelancing is full of ups and downs. My significant other and I had made quite a team couple of years back averaging earnings comparable to most salaried jobs. One of the biggest downside in freelancing is scammers followed by competition and low earnings. You can take all the precautions, but sometimes you have to trust that the client doesn't scam you.

Anyway, our luxurious freelance adventures came to a halt after my SO passed away. Almost 3 years later equipped with my antidepressants I re-enter the workforce. I get scammed over and over by "clients" most of the time and only very few were genuine clients. This discouraged me greatly. However, I had to keep doing this out of necessity.

I never took on big projects for fear I won't be able to do it without my SO, but I was contacted directly by a client and the project is in the planning stage. It's the biggest project I  gotten since my SO's passing. This looks like a genuine client as well. However, I'm overwhelmed by the scale of the project... a small voice saying "what if I'm not ready?" 

I'm so fraught with anxiety that I almost thought of declining the project, but this project maybe the only way I'll ever overcome my fear of taking on big projects alone. So, wish me luck.

Sort:  

Often when anxiety knocks at our door and we have to jump at the opportunity and how we deal with it is how we grow and define us. Regardless how the job turns out it will be a learning experience. Don't run yourself ragged trying to complete it. Communicate with the client if it's too troublesome or too exhausting. You need time for your health too. Good luck with the project! I hope they'll be understanding and reasonable.

Congratulations @babeline! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 100 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 250 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Thank you for being an awesome Partiko user! We have delegated 15 Steem Power to you! With more Steem Power, you can make more posts and comments, which means more friends, and more rewards!

If you have any questions while using Partiko, don't feel hesitant to reach out to us directly! You can send us a Partiko message if you use Partiko Android (Partiko Message will be available for iOS soon), or you can directly leave a message under our latest post!

Together, let's change the world.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66441.00
ETH 3217.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22