You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Where’s The Beef? : Sacha Baron Cohen On Authenticity

in #life6 years ago

This was a great read but the disappointing self voting goes counter to the ethos your post was summoning. I'll leave at this: if morality has stopped trending since it revolves around judging right from wrong, good from bad, correct from incorrect and ethics is about building something for the future (coincidentally in the framework of right, good, and correct) than one ought to simply find what is virtue, because one can be authentic and devoid of virtue, but one cannot be a virtuous sham.

Sort:  

I think morality is trending more than ever; appeals to higher powers that ground different ideas of right and wrong are everywhere atm. An ethics is a corrective in the way that it recognizes no authority other than community consensus.

I'll remove my upvote. I decided to follow what I saw was standard practice, but since it is somewhat of a touchy subject I'll follow the most unobjectionable path moving forward.

Good point concerning being authentically devoid of virtue, there's definitely a hint of Jung that could be unearthed there. I think the concept still retains importance though. Since I understand the mind not as a smooth homogenous soul, but a partitioned community of competing desires, the search for authenticity is more like creating agreement amongst one's selves, with a sense of alienation lighting the way.

Thanks for the comment.

I should have said your use of bidbots, self voting your own posts is acceptable, as you mentioned most everyone is doing it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00