Traveling for Venezuela: Isla de Margarita (Margarita Island) - January 2018

in #life7 years ago (edited)
Hello Steemians. I would like to share with you my experience visiting for the first time "Isla de Margarita", located in "Nueva Esparta" state, Venezuela.

The Journey.

My family and I went from Miranda State to Margarita for vacations, which would take 7 days and 6 nights, we had to be at 3:00 p.m. on January 2 at the port in Cumaná to book the ferry ticket, two hours before boarding. For this, we decided to leave a day in advance (due to the situation of the country in which we live, the shortage of gasoline, etc ... for prevention). There were no setbacks on the road and we arrived in Cumaná at night, where we stayed to sleep in the house of a friend of the family, who would also join us in our adventure.

The Ferry.

Also is my first time traveling by ferry. I must tell you that it fascinated me!

"Guaiquerí", that's the name of the ferry I traveled on. Initially, when boarding the ferry, I was worried about getting a seat on the inside, a stupid fear because it was best to sit outside, overlooking the sea. (They say that in the day you can see the dolphins). Unfortunately, I did not have that experience, I hope to have the opportunity to travel again by ferry and verify it with my own eyes.


(View of the Port arriving
at Margarita.)

(A view of the Guaiquerí when
we arrived at Margarita.).

"El Valle" and "Juangriego".

After visiting the church in "El Valle del Espíritu Santo", we headed to Juangriego. There they told us (they sang) its story and we watched the sunset. (Of the best I've seen). What I remember from the story told is about the "Laguna de Los Mártires" (Lagoon of the Martyrs in English), named because more than 200 margariteños committed suicide so as not to be slaves of General Morillo.

(Artist disguised as a pirate and me).

We were supposed to make a heart in the picture but it didn't work out ...

"Pampatar".

Ahhh ~~, Pampatar ... I really sigh, dare I say it was the best of this trip. At least for me. Even though we only toured the surroundings of the castle! Inside, a guide told us its history. Maybe it was his voice, which showed a love for his work, from my clear point of view, that managed to impress on me that feeling of wanting to know more about the history of that castle. How a woman, at age 17 only, locked in and completely isolated was able to send information about the enemy using her wits. If by my outside, I would hear the story again and again. Simply I loved it!

I also went to the pier, where they tried to teach me how to fish, unfortunately, they don't like me since it didn't bite any bait...

(At least I had a photo with a fish as a consolation...)

Another of the places visited was, of course, "La Asunción". However, the time was so limited and the stay was so short that I could not visit the castle and the museums. (Another reason to return).

"Manzanillo".

As I mentioned above, the time in "La Asunción" was limited, and we started in search of a place where we could watch the sunset. While I also said that Juangriego had one of the best sunsets I've seen, for me Manzanillo won the gold prize.

Marine Museum.

Last stop on our adventure. The marine museum in "Boca del Río".

The most interesting thing was to observe the turtles and sharks.

Seeing how they touched the sharks I decided to try too ... Same result that when I tried to fish, they did not come! It seems that they don't like me either.

There was also a small aquarium, where I took advantage of and took these photos, I could not resist placing them. Look ... This little friend is a model!

♪Pose, pose, pose...♪♫

This photo for some strange reason reminded me of the Disney movie "Finding Nemo". Pretty funny the truth ...

"Has anyone seen Flo?" "Ah, there you are."

(Would the reference be understood?).

Seahorses! First time I see them.

Curious this Coral. They call it Coral Brain. (Yes it seems) ... Brain ~~

Well, we arrived at the end of my post. Thanks for reading up here and I hope you liked it. We are reading.

Extra photos:

Photos taken by me @ azdary310591 and my family on our trip to Margarita. Using Samsung Galaxy Ace 2. HTC ONE XL. iPhone 4 and iPhone 5. All rights reserved.

Sort:  

Que bueno que lo haya pasado bien aquí en la bella isla, le falto visitar el faro punta ballenas, la laguna de la Restinga, y varios sitios mas.

Si vale, demasiados lugares, isla de Coche, Musipan, Playa El Agua, etc. Margarita tiene demasiadas cosas, un sólo viaje no alcanzó :(

Yo vivo aca soy "navegao" como nos dicen, aun no conozco toda la isla pero poco a poco.

Yo espero volver pronto y seguir recorriendo <3

muy bonitas las fotos que bonita es la Isla de Margarita

Y tiene demasiadas cosas para hacer turismo :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58431.17
ETH 2653.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44