You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I'm English, But I Speak With A Foreign Accent

in #life6 years ago

Firstly, glad to have you back!! :D

And yeah, I do think that our social identity or nationality has nothing to do with the way we want our accent to be. There's absolutely no need to follow a particular accent just because you belong from a certain somewhere.

The way I see it, accents are like cultural fashion. Even if you're Western, no one stops you from wearing an Indian saree. The same way, why should anyone stop us from speaking the way we like? After all, freedom of speech, right?

Sort:  

Thanks! It's good to be back! :)

I totally agree - we should be free to speak however we want! I mean, our accents don't define us!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66407.66
ETH 3025.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69