Tips and tricks - Sharpening knives

in #life8 years ago (edited)

When you think about it, we use cutting tools at least in a weekly basis. Either to open packages or to prepare a meal, we need to cut things. Having a dull knife is a rather dangerous since the force apply to the cutting task is excessive and will be more likely to cause an accident. Also, continuously using/practicing with a sharp knife should build better habits and establish proper muscle memory in order to predict how a blade should react. Don't be afraid of a sharp knife! Get comfortable with it and you will have less chances of cutting yourself. I rather you be cautious of a sharp knife than to be comfortable with a dull one.

My cousin gave me the task to help her sharpen her kitchen knives. At first glance the condition of the knives were bad, there were rolled edges, dings, and chips. These particular knives are very dangerous to use since the edges are in different condition throughout the knife edge, cutting can be unpredictable.

dull
Very dull knife

Sharpening a knife can be done in many ways, there are not a particular way which is better than the other techniques. I personally use a Japanese whetstone because I think knowing the technique of free hand sharpen will be beneficial to me since I do sharpen my knives when I go camping where I will not have access to tools or gadgets.
stones
Sharpening stones 6000/1000/300 grit top to bottom

Results


sharp

Basics

Sharpening a knife is not that hard. We have to keep in mind to keep the knife in a consistent angle along an abrasive and passing the knife back and forth. I learned how to sharpen a knife by watching and following the techniques of Murray Carter. He has many videos on YouTube so you can check him out.

But if you do not feel like practicing sharpening techniques you can always buy tools to assist you. These are the most well known assisted sharpening tools.

Lansky
Edge Pro
Worksharp
Wusthof

The only type of sharpening I don't really like are carbide sharpeners (Wusthof), since many say its one of the worst ways of sharpening, but with that said I rather you have a sharp knife even if it is not the most efficient way of sharpening. Happy cutting!

Sort:  

Thank you so much! I am going to try this on all my dull blades :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57020.43
ETH 3081.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41