Learning - From start to finish

in #life8 years ago

sketch_vs_finish

One day I decided to make a knife. I want to share the process of my first knife with you. It all started when I was looking for knife to purchase, I kept looking and looking, and thought to myself how hard is it really to make a knife.

So I decided to make a kiridashi ('to carve out' in Japanese) because the simple design was attractive to me and also it looked easier to make. To fully understand the process, I decided that I was only going to use hand tools complete the project. With a hacksaw, two files, and a total of 18 hours.

Initial Shaping

rough shaping

Heat Treat / Sharpening / Etching

mid-process

Etching done with a 9 volt battery and salt water


Final Product

kiridashi_1

kiridashi_2

kiridashi_3

kiridashi_4

Final Thoughts:
I'm pretty happy how my first knife turned out, I ended up giving it to my brother as a present. The knife was made with O1 tool steel and the handle is wrapped in 550 paracord. It was also acid washed for rust prevention. I just wanted to share my process on how I made a knife, let me know what you guys think!

Sort:  

Very cool! Do you have an etsy or anything?

Thank you! I don't it was just a fun little project I did on the side to see if I can actually do it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 64721.74
ETH 2633.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82