Valentine's Dance Recipe Round-Up

in #life6 years ago

Being on a restrictive diet means sometimes preparing your own food when going out or to events. I do not miss the days my boys were in school and I had to make their party treats, showing up with my home-made gummy bears sitting next to radio-active cheetos and skittles. I always worried Aydan felt left out and that he didn't quite understand why he had to have different food. I always did my best to explain and even if he understood completely that doesn't mean he liked the outcome.

The food journey has been a tough one, to say the least. I've discussed this frequently... We've been on the SCD (Specific Carbohydrate Diet), GAPS (Gut and Psychology Syndrome) diet, BED (Body Ecology Diet), Paleo and several combinations of these... At this point Aydan is still struggling with gut pain way too much for how well he eats. I wrote about it in my last article, discussing the new treatment we're working on to correct this, Helminth Therapy.

Aydan’s Road to Recovery from Autism and Vaccine injury: Where have we been, where are we now and where are we going?: https://steemit.com/autism/@aydansrecovery/aydan-s-road-to-recovery-from-autism-and-vaccine-injury-where-have-been-where-are-we-now-and-where-are-we-going

Before making any suggestions understand we've tried very high dose expensive probiotics, digestive enzymes, bone broth, fermented foods, parasite cleanse, detox, anti-fungal treatment, etc etc... I maybe forgetting something but we get the idea.

Anyway, the Helminth seems to be working so the more we can keep a steady stream of treatments without interruption the better we'll be able to be certain and see lasting results.

As you can see we've tried a boatload of stuff and I've changed diets many times but I've never entertained the notion of going back to a SAD (Standard America Diet). I couldn't possibly... It looks like poison to me now.

So for Aydan's Valentine's dance last night, I asked before hand what the gluten free options would be. I was told there would be a few desserts but no guarantee of any dinner options. Here's what I ended up putting together.

For dinner we made a Red lentil pasta with meat marinara. The bean pastas are not paleo but most beans are allowed on the SCD and some on GAPS. Red lentils are allowed and the brand I know uses 100 percent beans in the mix is Trader Joe's. Costco sometimes carries a green lentil pasta. I also made a Greek salad with kalamata olives.

For snack / dessert:

Paleo coconut flour Spiced Pumpkin Muffins, I adapted the recipe from Detoxinsta https://detoxinista.com/paleo-pumpkin-spice-muffins-nut-free/

And changed the ingredients as follows:

Pumpkin Spice Muffins (Nut-free)

Ingredients:

3/4 cup coconut flour
1/2 cup pumpkin puree (canned or homemade)
3/4 cup honey
6 eggs
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon or lemon juice

The other special cool item I sent him with I also made extras and packed them as little gifts for the event organizer and his date.

Honey, lemon, ginger gummy candies..

I adapted them from It's a love love recipe https://lovelovething.com/ginger-honey-gummy-snacks-gaps-legal/
And altered the ingredients as follows:

INGREDIENTS
1 teaspoon freshly grated ginger (a cheese grater works perfectly)
1/16 teaspoon green stevia (where to find green stevia powder)
1 cup filtered water, divided use
3 Tablespoons grass-fed gelatin
1 tablespoon raw honey – if not using green stevia, double the honey (where to find raw honey) Note: if you are not necessarily trying to keep the sugar low, you can add three tablespoons honey.
1 tablespoon lemon juice

I used shaped candy molds to make bears and legos.

Healthy eating...

Aydan's Road to Recovery: https://aydansrecovery.wordpress.com/support-aydans-recovery/

Upvote to support Aydan’s Recovery!
We are very grateful for your support….

Please click here to send your contribution of any amount to Aydan’s Recovery: https://www.paypal.me/aydansrecovery

Send Bitcoin to:
1N9Tkd4sXffcrf2WggTrUyQTRt6DMBvZxC

Ethereum: 0x49200f2e822f7D0299691174CE6541bE2692a57E

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63866.68
ETH 3129.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87