You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Proposal For Extracting Value From Positive Behaviors and Its Imagined Societal Impact

in #life6 years ago

Hey @halfjew22, I just finished reading your article here and I applaud you on getting this big idea out on paper! Obviously the idea you are presenting here is massive and would require either a massive team or merging a few technologies together to function cohesively.

Either way, I do like the idea of incentivizing a community to improve itself. Giving more responsibility and positive reinforcement for providing value to a community sounds like a really great thing. Clearly, taking ownership of how information is utilized and distributed would be absolutely of great importance as well.

One of my major hangups with this idea is the concept of influencing behavior based off of the status quo of what good behavior is. This is where we start to hit the grey areas because one person's definition of good may be much different from another's.

For instance, a janitor could be very thorough, but very slow. Is this a good or bad thing? Well... it depends on the circumstance. And this issue with circumstance is that most things are circumstantial.

What's better: kindness or strength? Well, in a war, strength is WAY more beneficial. In a hospital, kindness.

Ultimately, I think that if you kept it more general and geared towards practically improving the aspects of community that are very obviously beneficial (such as recycling, donating, volunteering, etc), then you wouldn't have to deal with those grey areas that might not end in your favor.

Have you seen this black mirror episode? If not, you should watch it...

My recommendation would be to share your ideas in smaller portions so people actually take the time to read and understand. Oh and also, there's something missing between your intro and point #1. You need to frame what these points are addressing. It's unclear what you're really talking about. Maybe it gets lost in the introduction?

Overall, you're onto something my friend! Keep working at it.

Sort:  

First, I'm just going to ask if you'd be curious in having a Skype call. I was overjoyed when I saw that you'd responded, as I'm trying to get feedback exactly like the feedback you just gave and truly appreciate it. You seem to be a fellow big thinker (simply judging from your school idea posted earlier) and I would love to brainstorm with you.

So, would you be willing to hop on a Skype or Zoom or Hangout (or whatever) call? I'm actually free for another hour tonight if you are. Otherwise, would some other time work?

Now for an actual response to your great feedback.

That is also not to say that being physically fit would not be important. Taking care of yourself is one of the most important things you can do and I think that would be addressed appropriately in the rating structure.

One of my major hangups with this idea is the concept of influencing behavior based off of the status quo of what good behavior is. This is where we start to hit the grey areas because one person's definition of good may be much different from another's.

I absolutely understand with and agree with you that everyone will disagree. I've attempted to explain my solution for that by allowing a liquid vote on both what any arbitrary individual feels is the enumeration for both the positive attributes, the positive actions, and the attribute makeup of the action. I'll be sure to do a more thorough job explaining that in future posts. Thanks for pointing that out.

For instance, a janitor could be very thorough, but very slow. Is this a good or bad thing? Well... it depends on the circumstance. And this issue with circumstance is that most things are circumstantial.

Great example! Thanks for providing it. I feel I've got the solution for this as well, albeit perhaps poorly explained. So, due to the breakdown of the positive attributes (cleanliness, promptness, attentive, hygiene, etc --> all attributes that go along with being a janitor), we can also rank particular jobs on their exhibition of those attributes. I've definitely done a poor job explaining this.

Suffice it to say that, all else equal, the faster job would be more "valuable" than the slower job. Great point that will certainly have to be addressed in more detail!

What's better: kindness or strength? Well, in a war, strength is WAY more beneficial. In a hospital, kindness.

Funny you mention this. I just heard this quote in a podcast between two of my favorite speakers today, Joe Rogan and Jordan Peterson:

The quote was as follows:

"It is better to be a warrior in a garden than to be a gardener in a war."

I think that beautifully summarizes the sentiment.

And without going into too much detail, I believe that if this system were to be successful, it would end war. That's a pretty grandiose claim, and I would love to discuss in more detail with you why I think that would even remotely by possible.

Ultimately, I think that if you kept it more general and geared towards practically improving the aspects of community that are very obviously beneficial (such as recycling, donating, volunteering, etc), then you wouldn't have to deal with those grey areas that might not end in your favor.

That's certainly true regarding the avoidance of grey areas. However, I'm not sure what you mean about "not end in your favor" - could you go into a little more detail there for me so I can better understand?

Have you seen this black mirror episode? If not, you should watch it...

Funny that you mention that episode. Interesting take on what would happen with a voting system in real life, but pretty shallow in my opinion. Sorry to come off as very dry here :P

https://www.reddit.com/r/CrazyIdeas/comments/7otpn9/we_should_create_a_cryptocurrency_that_rewards/dsccmri/

My recommendation would be to share your ideas in smaller portions so people actually take the time to read and understand. Oh and also, there's something missing between your intro and point #1. You need to frame what these points are addressing. It's unclear what you're really talking about. Maybe it gets lost in the introduction?

Great minds think alike. I've actually recently left my job to pursue this full time and can't wait to get the content out there and start more conversations such as this one. Thanks again for your time and for responding. I truly look forward to continuing our conversations.

Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64249.62
ETH 3184.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48