Chronicles of Alan; Lucas 7

in #life7 years ago

Moto Morini 500 V Twin

August 1980, The Bands I had been playing in had split up and I was still itching to play again.

I get a call to come and Audition with a Band that has Corporate Sponsorship and are looking for an exceptionally Good Looking Bassist ! ( Made that Part Up) There is a Party at a Friends House on the 16th of August and the suggestion is that we meet up there and Jam? , seems like a Good idea to me? Party Time, same friend I purchased My BSA Spitfire From!

Earlier in the Week my Dad had been asking me to Bring his Grandchildren to Church on the 17th ( I had been attending very infrequently) which I agreed to do.

So the Party on the 16th had a Braai , Peter and Gayle were there, told me he was going on Breakfast Run the next Morning,

Gayle would not go with unless Chris, my Wife went with? , so agreed to go . Note to self;- have promised to do 2 different things at the same time.

Jammed with this Band they seemed very happy with me, Party People enjoyed it! ( neighbours probably didn't?)

So , had spent the week doing the usual things at Lucas , been at the party on Saturday, Sunday Morning Early , Chris and I head out on the Kawasaki ,

Evil Vampire ( sorry Mother-in-Law) looking after her Grandchildren at our house, Got there while still dark ! ( probably to avoid direct Sunlight?)

Off we go , meet up with Peter on route , heading out to Fourways , rendezvous, before leaving for Hartebeespoort Dam, on the Way to Sun City.

The police had stopped me a while before on the way into Lucas, saying my Bike was too noisy so I had wound extra Fibreglass round the tail muffler of My J&B four into one pipe. I had noticed that it was battling to rev up properly , so borrowed a pair of pliers and removed the Fibreglass , prior to us leaving Fourways.

Anyway , we were Riding with the Italian Motorcycle Club, hence the Morini at the Start and some of these Beauties.

Something the Guzzi had that was very unusual ( and clever) was that the Footbrake operated the Rear Disc and one of the Front Disc's , the front brake lever operated the other front disc!

What this meant is, you could brake later, and longer in to a bend without the wheels locking up ( if you knew what you were doing?)

This was adequately demonstrated , when one of the Twits on a Guzzi , passed me on a Bend , suddenly decided he was going too fast and hit brakes a few metres in front of me, he very nearly took us out , annoying me somewhat.

We got to Sun City had a Great Mid-Morning Breakfast , and I filled up the Bikes Tank .

This will be continued. Apologies for keeping you in Suspense!

Sort:  

Well researched, Thanks.

Lovely Machine, I have driven a couple of them.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by fproductions from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

I am following you now man, you are doing great here and I wanna be inspired! thanks

Great, Glad to have you on board! Appreciated.

Wish you a great time!

The most important thing is to have a good relationship with the bike... you have to understand what she wants. I think of a motorcycle as a woman, and I know that sounds silly, but it's true.
Thanks for sharing

Thank You for your comment, much appreciated

Nice bikes! If i would own one i would be dead in 30m. Thats why i enjoy looking at them but i wil never drive one :)

Thank You for your visit.

Nice, the police should not catch you, and if they does; good you did everything so that it will be hard for them to give you a penalty. Good what you do with your bike to make is special and enjoy what you do like most

Thank You for your comment, Appreciated.

wao very nice ride after hard work to make this post really good and enjoy alot

Glad you liked it, Thank You.

Waw...amazing.....

Thank You.

😉👍

Thank You.

😉

I share you post the my twiter....

those are very nice bikes!

Yes they are, Thanks

Well memorize are forever

Yes they are! Thank you, my friend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66561.16
ETH 3492.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63