Chronicles of Alan; Lucas 5

in #life7 years ago

One day at Lucas a Morgan Sportscar came in, Problems with SU Carb tuning , I had had quite a bit of SU experience as I had owned several Jaguar Mk 2's, so we set them up , actually Roy did , I just checked them as well.

Naturally , we took it for a ride together ( Lucas was very close to where the Johannesburg Hill Climb was held) up to the top of a Mine Dump!

The Rover/Buick V8 went very well in this light car. Morgans's had a unique sliding pillar front suspension design.

There are several Kit Cars available based very much on the Morgan Body design.

Herman W , a good friend of mine who owned shares in The Bike Hospital at this time, had another friend doing a Turbo Version of a Kawasaki Motor in a Metisse Frame! ( Metisse meaning Mongrel Bitch in French)

I modified the Ignition system for him.

BTW if you have an older car that is not fully electronic , you advance the ignition roughly 1Degree per 1000ft above sea level . When you are Turbocharging or Supercharging, you retard the automatic advance by 1 Degree per 1lb pressure increase over standard.

The Kawasaki still used points and spring loaded centrifugal advance , I modified it according to the pressure they said it would be boosting at ,

He never actually used that much pressure as he would go sliding back on the seat, and was actually terrified of the Bike!

Could not find a Video of a 1000 Turbo actually being opened up , but here is an 1100

I really loved my time at Lucas doing what I enjoyed.

Sort:  

Sometimes i wonder what it will be like when present cars will turn into oldtimers :-|

We´ll be old then aswell. Or even worse :-O

I don't think Modern Cars will last as long? Thank You.

It depends. how can we know :-/ ? But i agree. present cars are more like a BUY-USE|short term and dump scheme. Their value vanishes in such a short amount of time. It´s sad.

Keep up posting things you value! :-)

you have an exciting life sir!

Sometimes more exciting than I would like! Thank you.

Dang a boosted bike! Does what 9s or less in the 1/4 mile?

I am sure Less? Thanks, appreciated.

It's a dream car! Even though you cough when riding it lol.

Im sure, Thanks.

It shows how much you enjoyed your time at Lucas - you certainly seem like a good mechanic.

My uncle used to say of my dad's 1100, "there is fast, and then there is sudden, that bike is sudden." He came back pale white after riding that bike one time. This is from a man who did wheelies with my mom on the back.

Sounds like a good description from your Uncle, Thank You.

That's pretty powerful !

Certainly is! Thank You.

A beautiful car, do you still have it?

Was not mine, just needed some tuning. Thank You.

meep

Good post . Thanks you for this post .

Thank You, appreciate your comment.

So cool. You do enjoy writing your rides out. Thank you my friend @awgbibb

Thank You, I do talk a lot , so now I write! Appreciate your comments My Friend!

I like to read your post my friend so please continue

Great friend! Nice car

Thank You, Glad you liked it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66618.20
ETH 3498.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63