I Visited Malacca and experienced the Jonker Street Night Bazzar

in #life7 years ago

image

Hey Steemians!

Happy August first and foremost. I had a case of Baader-Meinhof phenomenon after listening to Gary Vaynerchuk's rant about August.


here's the video where I was made aware of the mysterious property of August


August really is a busy month. Ever since coming back from my KL vacation (it's obvious how slumped I am, I have soooo much to talk about KL but I haven't posted much about it). I havent stopped working. between the 5 hour sleeps and busy Sundays, It's been an amazingly tiring August for me and at the same time I was quite surprised by myself. I find myself imagining the day where I can freely put all my time and effort on this platform (I really love you guys that's why) and be on here full time.


image

A couple of days ago was no exception. Due to the nature of my work and the client's confidence, I can't let you in too much on what exactly what did. Altho I can say... It was some awesome droning experience unlike anything I've been through. Exhilarated, apprehensive, humbled, exhausted are some of the adjectives I can use to describe myself over it.

The filming was set in Malacca, it was my first time being there. Although I can definitely say it will not be my last. Melacca is amazing. One can feel the history in the air when walking down the historical parts of the city. And yet know that it is as modern as any other city in Malaysia.

image

During the Friday night I was there I went to visit the world famous Jonker Street Night Bazzar. And wow was I overwhelmed by the sheer size and number of things going on. There's stalls EVERYWHERE! And pretty much everything that can be sold on an open flea market is sold here. I didn't buy anything tho, seeing that I am here on business, I did not pack a tourist luggage.

image

The Jonker Street was an initiative by the Malacca State Government to revitalize a historical part of the city of Malacca and create a bustling tourist destination.

image

I arrived at this interesting junction where 2 stalls were selling coconut water just right next to each other. From the way I see it, I think they offer more entertainment than product value😂. Stalls were manned by teams and the competition is intense! Shouting in 6 languages, coconut flinging competition, live coconut cutting, they certainly know how to draw a crowd.

image

you can see the whole cutting process live, and judge all you want. From what I saw, the cutter did not touch the coconut flesh at any single point!


image

At one point the whole street jammed, I can't move! It turns out there's a huge gathering of audience over something. And I gotta know what that something is. Turns out it's an amazing artist! All his work is done using spray cans and it was awesome!

As I walked further into the Bazzar, I come across Agustina Love, a lovely lady who is on her solo hitchhiking journey.

image

She has so far traveled to Australia, Thailand, Singapore, Laos, Vietnam, Malaysia (duh), and maybe a few other places I either forgot or did not hear about, what's special about her journey is that she is doing it in support of a non-profit organization. After listening to her story and why she is taking this leap of faith for a cause. Steemit immediately came to mind as my conversation piece.

image

she has taken and filmed pictures of things she sees on her travel

I told her about Steemit and the community within it. Citing people like @knozaki2015 and of course @heiditravels. She seemed very interested, as she is already doing some blogging of her own.

Of the whole night walking along the Jonker Street. Speaking with Agustina is the most enjoyable experience I had in the flea market.


Before I had back I had a sip of drinks in one of the many cafés along Jonker Street. The premise itself had to be at least Seventy years old, knowing how old the street itself is.

image

the general ambience of the place



Sitting in the Cafe, I was awestruck at the designs of the building.

image

it even has these fancy indoor balconies



After the drink and a long day, I head back to my airbnb and take my much needed rest. I rarely stay in hotels anymore, too.... Centralized😉.

image

a little glimpse of how the room looked like in the day


Thank you so much for spending the time to read my humble blog. I admit that I don't spend enough time on steemit as I should. I really want to post more and <read more from you guys though alas. However I'm quite hopeful, steemit opens an opportunity we all never had before.

image

image

This has been @awesomianist so far. Stay Awesome guys!

curation post Steem Power followers Rep

Sort:  

Malacca, a cultural town of many ethical races, a once upon a time a Portugese settlement. Was there too. Visited the places you mentioned and yes, I love Jonker Street and would not resist the pineapple tarts there! 😊😊😊

Don't we all! I really would like to visit there once more, as i felt that i did not get the full experience as i was there on a business trip.

So you were at the Daily Fix cafe

YES!! that was it! yep i was there!

It is a very happening place in Melaka. I remembered taking the chicken rice ball there. The rice are being rolled into balls. Do check out my Trans-Mongolia Adventure if you are free.

Chicken rice balls are.... well its something new for me. Of course i'll have a look at your Adventure series!

It is good to travel to places where you have not been and to try new food as well.

There's so many places in the world to see, why cage ourselves in one small corner of the world? I agree fully.

Malacca looks interesting and you met interesting people. Hope she joins us in steemit. Awesome for you to promote the community. You have a new follower! Cheers :)

Very! and the perple are interesting too! I've pinged her on her contact to hopefully nudge her in the right direction. lets just wait and see. She's got a alot of good stories to tell. Thanks for the follow! Lets support and each and learn from each other!

I bet she has a lot of fascinating stories to tell and a lot of places to share. Thanks for following back appreciate it. I'm very glad to meet awesome people here at Steemit. Keep me posted. Cheers!

I don't get to see everything in Jonker Street... As I always travel with my 3 girls... And plus I don't like to go to packed area with all three of them... I can't concentrate on any other things but just have to glue my eyes on them 3... So better avoid all these areas...

Very true, I guess i can only be empathetic to how you might feel as i dont have kids myself... sooner or later it's gonna be my turn to sweat over kids running around too hahahaha...

But who knows maybe soon enough they will be the ones bringing you arounf Jonker Street once they are old enough. You'd have all the time in the world when that happens.

I will be waiting for the sweet moments... :)

Bet you will!

Sometimes I will ask my girls... will they wanna me to hang out with them when they are older... they always say of coz will bring Mommy along... Little Vinnie wanna bring me out for makan-makan (coz she loves eating... hahaha)... then Halley wanna bring me to spa and nail parlor... Ryenne brings me for train ride... LOL...

Nice Post Bro, Be with us For more time

For more time

I assume you mean to stick around here?

I definitely will do that!

Nice post ....like it and upvoted...

Congratulations @awesomianist! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62804.67
ETH 2444.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71