I flew from my hometown to Kuala Lumpur - And how to basically sit anywhere you like in a plane.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Title.png

I'm sharing you tried and true techniques for me to sit basically sit wherever I want.


I hate flying. No, im not claustrophobic. But having me sit on a 1 foot wide seat that doesn't recline properly, together with hundreds of other people whom at least 10 of them might be farting the whole journey, if I myself don't already have irritable gassy intestines because of the pressure change... Thank you but no thank you.

But even so, there's no denying it. We are living in a world more and more untethered to geography. The internet has made sure that for a majority of us, life is impossible without being connected online. There is only so much one can do in front of a computer screen all day.

It was a bummer that my flight was not before @bitrocker2020's awesome initiative to bring in at least 2 dozen newcomers into steemit. Really wanted to be there and be of help and be there to witness the first teem workshop in Malaysia. No worries tho, I'm sure @bitrocker2020 will give us a first hand account of what happened.




I started my flight in Miri, Sarawak at 9:30pm. The last flight of the day out of my small town. One thing nice about small towns are its small airports, and pretty friendly officers, the type where you are obligated to say hello and make small talks if you wanna makes things easier for you. Pleasantries is a currency around these parts.


I've learnt from a wise person one truth about boarding an airplane. Be among the first to get in the hall, be the last to get in the plane. Usually when the airline Lady calls for boarding, I'm sure most will go for a mad dash to get in front of the line. Learning what I learnt and applying the same thought process of "question ALL the things" I had that got me on cryptocurrency. I asked myself: "why? To what end? For what purpose?"

why do we go for a mad dash to the front of the line?

Seats; All the seats are prearranged and assigned to your boarding pass, barring any United Air type SNAFU. Anyone who sits on your seat can pretty much be dragged away by security.

Cabin bag; the best way to store your cabin bag is to have no more overhead compartment. Yes, I hope for exactly what others avoid. Unlike what airlines have you believe. THERE IS ALWAYS SPACE FOR MORE BAGS! Cabin crews (air stewards and stewardess) will find a way to stow away your bags when there is no more space in the cramped oddly shaped crevice they call an "overhead compartment". And usually when they do you pretty much have your bags taken care of and watched lovingly by them instead being tossed around in that cramped space, poor poor bags. And which one do you prefer? Having to carry the bags and risk your fragile backs that's been taking abuse for the past few hours in weird seating positions, or have your bags handed to you with a smile?

I guess I went on a tangent. Let's get back..

So i boarded last onto the plane. an Airbus A310 plane designed to house about 200+ people including crews.
Untitled.png

The good thing about boarding last is that no other passengers would come in behind you. Well, maybe in rare cases i guess? It's a gamble i'm willing to take where i will lose nothing or gain a free seat-wherever-i-want pass.

My boarding pass originally gave me a seat all the way to the back of the aircraft. But because there are empty spaces and i'm possibility the last dude to plonk his butt down. I scanned and myself the most front "non-premium" seat as possible (The stewards keep track of who sits in the good seats so that's a no-go zone). And guess what? I snatched one all the way in front. 7th row!

seat.png

And That! is how to sit anywhere you like!


Arrived Kuala Lumpur late at 11:40pm, although it was okay because I was waiting for a friend the next morning.

IMG_20170719_000333-01.jpeg

Took a nap within the airport before taking a bus ride to where I'll be staying.

So I am currently in Kuala Lumpur now. I hope to Blog more of the stuff I do and hopefully inspire or at least give you value for your time reading.


I'm @awesomianist

Stay Awesome!

curation post Steem Power followers Rep

Sort:  

Thanks for the tips, i will try it out next time.

Glad that you do! Good things always come to the brave and weird in unexpected ways. There will be the nagging feeling of "I shouldn't do this" but when i went over it, i realized that no one cared. So why should i! so long as no harm or foul is done to anyone right?


This was my reaction when I was reading your post......
Finally found you from @bitrocker2020 's post!
(Eventually you made it!)
It was good to get to know you!
Have fun in Peninsular as much as you can!
upvoted

Thank you!! hahaha

It's just a sharing of what i know which worked for me. May or may not work under different circumstances. It was great meeting you and thanks, KL has been great so far!

P.S. dont forget to post about your travels too ;P

Wow some stunning scenery there! @awesomianist

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62864.56
ETH 2538.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.93