Do We Really Need a Mentor? -- My personal take on living a life and improving oneself

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Hey Steemians!



I'd like to share something I truly believe in. Which is something very personal to me. Even in the case of my journey in Steemit, it holds true. I've never had a mentor. It used to be something I've been very bitter about. I had to learn everything myself, not just Steemit but all round life in general. But over time I've come to the conclusion that people can fare equally well if not better without a mentor. I've learnt to be independent. learn things myself, not to rely on spoonfeeding, and to always have the desire to push myself.

U5dsPuCRrcGBYFrmdAJXzjHQYxcsFxc_1680x8400.png


And today I come across a beautifully made short video by my man Gary Vaynerchuk. I think this is in response to his Latest vlog about himself having a personal Mentee. Which i guess is a good thing?

But then he gets flooded by Direct Messages from young people asking him to be their mentor too. Boy! the response is savage!! Warning: has some harsh words in there if you're sensitive to it.





Yeap!! Not the response they had hope! They had it coming though from the way i see it. Dude runs a USD 150 Million a year business with jam-packed schedule. What chance they think he's gonna give personal attention to random boys and girls (even for a fee). He basically already doles out his lessons and advice 24/7 for free! 10 tweets a day at least, 3 facebook posts a day, 3 youtube videos a week, at least 1 podcast a week. He is already everyone's mentor!!

Like he said, Google stuff, watch Youtube Videos, figure things out, use the First Principles Thinking. Google is you Sir Know-it-all, Youtube your instructor, WikiHow your handbook, Lifehacker your curriculum.. the list goes on.

circles3.png

Always have the fire to bring yourself further than you've been. I truly believe in improveing oneself by 1% daily consistently for the whole year. In fact, it is exactly what i wrote about in my very first post.

James Altucher coined the famous 1% Rule for Creating All Habits. By striving to be better at something by 1% everyday, in 1 years time, through the compounding effect, you'll be 38 times better than when you first started the year before.

Ahh... Feels good to read my past content and not cringe over it.

The point is, You don't need anyone to be there to push you when you have the mental strength and fortitude to do so yourself. Which is exponentially better than having to rely on someone. No tactics or strategies or plans can help you when you yourself do not have the mindset. It is useless to have other people held accountable for your progress.

You have more than it takes to push yourself. Don't rely on a "mentor" to do that for you.

TM1vUug.png

P.S. Let me leave you with an unrelated song which i stumbled upon a few days ago. The song fits my mood because i can relate to the words being sang so much. It's like the singer Wincent Weiss is singing words from my mouth.

If you didn't take anything away from my writing at all, i hope that at least you can appreciate this song which i find awesome.

separtors10.png

I'm @awesomianst

Stay Awesome!

203872_bb29e956be4b47bab6212ab9379b8cfe~mv2.gif

Sort:  

I like to think mentors are great, but the student has to be ready first. Sometimes when you can't find a mentor, maybe view it in a way that you don't need one yet at that stage of your life/business.

I believe in mentors and coaches though, because I've had the privilege of being mentored by many over the past 15 years. Frankly, without them, I know I have to work much harder and probably make costlier mistakes.

That was great for you! I have yet to have the privilege to be a mentee though. Maybe i haven't yet asked, But isn't mentorship implicit? It just feels weird for me to go "Can you be mentor?" because the way i see mentorship is that i will be learning quietly from the side and then ask question about everything. Not the proverbial "Hey young man here see what i do lemme spoonfeed you"

It's good to be able to learn exclusively from someone, but i wont make him accountable to how much i can learn, which is sadly what i see people are doing. Blaming mentors when they aren't able to do anything.

I always am interested to learn stuff, could be from anyone, even a young teen boy. Maybe you are right, it's just not my time yet.

One thing a mentor, Dave Rogers, did teach me was,

"Be a mentor to others first, and then your mentor will appear in your life."

I don't know the recommendations and advice I've given others over the year counts as mentoring, but I do acknowledge that I have great support in return, which I'm grateful for. Pay it forward :)

That was a great advice and i've learnt something today.

Thank you for that!

This is sooo true!
Its all abt the mindset. To aim is one thing, but to work towards that aim is another. There is no better mentor than ourselves.
Knowing you, @awesomianist, I am amazed at how you are able to learn things on your own and how you are able to push yourselves up to this point. Eventho it is hard for you. This proves that you dont need a mentor😊

Having a mentor is important to take it to the next limit of your capabilities in the shortest time span. This is because they will push you to the limits and also be your biggest critic .

It is definitely an advantage. The issue arises when some people starts to use "not having a mentor" as an excuse for their lack of achievements.

You are correct with having a mentor as a lifehacking tool too. Looking back, I do acknowledge that i could have done way more with a mentor. A luxury i never had

Definitely having a mentor is an advantage. The first few tips and tricks u shared with me is invaluable and i will always cherish it.

It is not a requirement for success tho. Maybe I can't speak on behalf of people with mentors. In fact I do wish I had a mentor back then, could have cut my learning curve by alot.

But the way I see it. Amazing people came to be without mentorship too.

It can be a short cut. But bottom line is still the individual.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61282.12
ETH 2375.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55