Self-Defense in a Dangerous World

in #life7 years ago (edited)

This is a guest post written by my hubby.

Hey, Steemers.

Today I'm writing about self-defense. It's something I think about often, especially since I'm a white hispanic dude living in the Philippines. As such, I'm a prime target for certain types of criminals out here. Numerous "what if" scenarios play out in my mind as I ride on Jeepneys, walk around, hang out in different places, and jog through various neighborhoods--some quite shady--late at night.

Due to the nature of the topic, I can't cover it exhaustively in one post, but I will offer some quick tips that play into the ultimate goal of self-defense. I'll start by talking about an extremely effective, but controversial weapon.

The Gun

bullets.jpg

It's a weapon that criminals use for nefarious purposes and that good people use for...well, stopping violent criminals from committing murder, rape, and other atrocities. Instead of proving the effectiveness of guns for self-defense, however, I'm simply assuming it in this post. A debate over effectiveness or over the pros and cons of gun ownership can be left for the comments section, I suppose, and objections can be answered in future posts. Here, I'm simply suggesting, flat out, that if you can legally obtain a firearm and become proficient in using it, you should! I say "legally" because, even though I don't believe that it's morally wrong to have a firearm illegally (law doesn't define morality, but many times violates it), it's just as important to protect oneself from the enforcement of unjust firearms laws as it is to protect oneself from other crimes of aggression.

Here in the Philippines, legal gun ownership requires jumping through a series of government-imposed hoops, so to speak, and the first one is citizenship. People like myself are not legally allowed the ability to protect themselves or their families with a firearm. If I'm caught with a firearm, I risk being kidnapped, caged, and/or deported, all in the name of "law." Citizens, on the other hand, can legally obtain a firearm if they meet all of the requirements set forth by their oppressors. (The oppressive nature of
government is something I talk about a lot, and those who know me well know that.)

Physical Fitness

sprint.jpg

Guns can save lives, but one's own physical fitness is also useful in various self-defense situations. Some dismiss its importance and others overemphasize it, but I think it's safe to say that it shouldn't be overlooked. If you're physically able to run, for example, but you don't sprint and jog regularly, you should probably consider doing so. Why? Well, the best thing you could do in a dangerous situation is to get away from it as fast as possible. This could entail running away from an attacker--especially if you're by yourself. If you're with someone else, your options change a bit, and if you're with a small child, you might have to move very quickly while carrying some weight. Either way, you're going to have trouble if you can't remember the last time you worked out. Cardio and strength training are beneficial for life in general, so get to it.

Martial Arts and Combat Sports

mma-1575852_960_720.jpg

Besides running and strength training, a great way to get in shape is to practice martial arts or combat sports. Training in boxing, Muay Thai, BJJ, Krav Maga, etc. can help improve your physical fitness and give you added tools that you can potentially use in certain self-defense situations. The effectiveness of it is going to greatly depend on your level of training and preparedness (among other things), but such is also the case with guns and other tools of self-defense. If you can't properly handle a gun and shoot well at a firing range, you're not going to do any better in a high-risk situation, and if you can't throw a right hook, you're not suddenly going to become a heavy hitter if knocking someone out is in order.

Awareness

head-3113192_1920.jpg

It should go without saying, but if you aren't aware of your surroundings, you're an easy target for criminals to take advantage of. Earlier, I mentioned that I'm oftentimes out and about, and that I even jog through not-so-safe neighborhoods late at night. That's all true, but I'm always aware of my surroundings. The motorbike that made a right turn about 50 feet away--I took note of it. The two middle-aged men standing at the corner--I profiled them before they even saw me. Awareness of one's own surroundings is of extreme importance.

This entails--or should entail--thinking two steps ahead. Before I got together with @awesomenyl, she had a stressful experience on a Jeepney one day. She was on her smart phone, minding her own business, when a thief simply grapped her phone and walked off the Jeepney with it. Understandably, @awesomenyl was stunned, but in retrospect, she realizes that we live in a world where these sorts of things happen. She wasn't very aware of her surroundings then, and the thief had thought ahead. Before he did what he did, he thought, "Girl, phone, exit." It behooves us to think two steps ahead, then. If criminals are always thinking ahead, we should be doing the same.

Anyway, that wraps it up for now: guns, physical fitness, combat sports, and awareness. In a future post, I'll touch some more on the topic of self-defense and discuss other options that are available to those who are willing and able to use them. Until then, stay safe, and remember: the bad guys are always scheming. It doesn't pay to be a sitting duck, vulnerable and unprepared.

unnamed.png

Thanks You! Maraming Salamat po!
If you need someone to talk to, talk to me in DISCORD #Missnyl8133, or if you're looking for an awesome family and wanting to know about #thealliance
you may visit our Discord channel:
The Alpha Syndicate
Are you a Filipino or an expat living in the Philippines? Please come and join our wonderful Filipino Steemit community:* Steemit Philippines Discord

I am aiming to share quality content under Photography, philippines, Thealliance, art, and writings tags. If you enjoy reading my posts, Follow me and upvote. Thankyou and God Bless us all!

U5dtvmWx76jQPSoCr5BLUvN2rEruo2f_1680x8400.png
DQmNUzXNnJmix6G7uDLJmYGXg6LJCkJdyNr36Z7fxyEgWQW_1680x8400.png
U5drWjY9zSLLDhjE44iC9WT2HqXMt5f_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

This post has received gratitude of 4.73 % from @appreciator thanks to: @awesomenyl.

I like that you covered dif aspects. I can speak on the martial arts focus and weapons(including guns) No weapon is any better then the user. If someone is worried about self defense. You MUST get training. And you have to find a trainer that works with what you have. For example. I taught martial arts for many years. And I had muscle bound students and I had students that were 5 ft tall and 90 lbs. You have to learn the basics. Then learn what works for you. Just my 2 cents.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53807.82
ETH 2237.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30