You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I Made a Serious Vocational Error

in #life8 years ago

In Holland you can give someone the gift to do some "Cow hugging". And there is a company that massages their cows for better meat, which is of course more expensive.

In Japan everything is stranger: men hiring a fake family to spend a few hours with. Or you can hire a man to just listen to your story.

I guess as long as there is a need....

Sort:  

On the cow massages, do the workers have to get licensed? I would imagine they would since (I would guess) they would have to certify that meat from the cow was massaged.

Funny thing is after doing some follow up research, I discovered a number of other jobs which left me scratching my head. I may write a future article on that, but some are undercover bridesmaids, professional mourners, and dog surfing instructors. I echo your feelings, as long as there is a need and someone willing to pay...

lol there are PUA's. Pick Up Artists. That will train you to... pick up women. @neilstrauss who is now on steemit wrote a book called the game. That book talked about that lifestyle.
There's people that will pay for alot of things.

I remember reading his book one afternoon in a Barnes and Noble. One of the funnier sections was when they decided to go on a sleep diet, thinking they could gradually wean themselves off a 8 hour sleep need. Turns out they kept getting hit with micro naps in the middle of what they were doing, kind of like narcolepsy.

I'm not sure about a license, I guess the company has to get some kind of certificate. Is there a cow-physiotherapy/massage-course somewhere? ;-)

I knew allready of the professional mourners for a long time, because we had someone on TV that went to the US to do this to show it exists.

Pick-up artists (see below) don't give the best pick-up-line, they give advice about how to be more confident and happy with yourself. Which in the end is the best thing there is: love yourself first, so you can love others.

I never knew about professional mourners until I stumbled across an article on the internet. One of the best reporters on counter cultures is Luis Thoreaux on BBC. He had a weird weekends series, where he spent time as a professional wrestler, spent some time in the Westborough Baptist Church, participated in a Demolition Derby and so on. I wish he would revive that series and jump into some current counter cultures.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60462.58
ETH 2636.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58