You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Burden of Good Fortune - Daily Meditation #3

in #life7 years ago

The only thing you should worry about losing is your health and your loved ones. If you have a roof over your head, and something to eat every day, everything else is expandable and not important. At least I try to live this way.

But, I do understand what you are saying and earning or gaining something with your hard work is sometimes not easy to part with. But again you can always focus on what you have and not on which you don't or might lose. It is all about perspective. :)

Great post, my friend. Interesting topic. :)

Sort:  

Hello @Awakentolife!

I actually agree with you about there only being a few things to worry about losing. I keep these posts very short, so that I can expand on these ideas with fine people (like you!) in the comments. I do not think that someone who worries about losing loved ones and their health as "doing it wrong". Those are tremendously valuable things. Perhaps, the most valuable things in life.

A lot of what I discussed above was about losing trivial things. Nice things, like a job you like - yet trivial in the grand scheme of things. But people sometimes don't even realize how tightly they are clinging to these aspects of their life. Often, so much so that they can't even enjoy it.

I think we are expressing similar ideas in different words.

Thanks for the great comment.

Well, we are on the same page, my friend. I know how you feel about not being able to squeeze everything in into one post. I am having the same problem with my posts. My critical mind does not let me write short posts. I always say well if I write this I have to explain this and it just goes downhill from there. :) lol

It is not easy to let go of the things you've worked hard for. I was having a hard time doing so as well. But, once I turned my attention and focus on what I have and take for granted such as health all the rest felt meaningless and something I can live without. It is all about the way you look at things. :)

Just like you said. We are expressing the same idea in our own little different way. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53949.09
ETH 2223.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31