The market crashed and I gave them their wedding present in Bitcoin

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Only 1 day after I made my first investment in cryptocurrency the market took a dive!

...oh yeah and I was on a plane heading to a wedding in Cyprus as the whole thing went down.

So a couple of weeks ago I decided to go down the rabbit hole and start investing in crypto currencies. After some advice from @thisisbenbrick and a bit of reading I took the jump. I got out as much as I could afford to lose and put it all on Bitcoin and Etherium.

The very next day I was flying out to Cyprus for a friends wedding. I was excited for the wedding but I was also excited about getting back and doing my research into crypto. I had also decided that I wasn't going to buy any data while on holiday and would only use wifi in the hotel. That way I would concentrate on hanging out with friends and helping the groom prepare of the big day. When we landed we were picked up and taken to a restaurant where I told the bride and groom all about crypto and how they should invest some of their wedding money.

We finished our meal and got back to the hotel where I jumped on the wifi to check on my investment

I got on whatsapp to @thisisbenbrick to ask him what was going on and what I should do! And thats when he reminded me of the golden rule of cryptocurrency:

HODL!!!!!


~I think 'hodl' is my favourite thing about crypto~

I was pretty annoyed about the whole thing especially since I also missed out on the Brave ICO. But I stood fast and put my faith in 'hodl'. Sure enough after a few days the graph started to move back up. Slowly, slowly. Little did I know, but the bride and groom had gone away and were reading up on cryptocurrencies at night and started to ask me more and more questions as the days went on. They were excited! They wanted in! When they got home they were going to make investments! (especially when I showed them that I was making my money back after the crash).

With all of that said, I decided not to give them any money on their wedding day and instead give them £100 in BTC to kick off their journey down the cryptocurrency rabbit hole!

The best gift I gave them however (and I am giving you too)... is HODL!!!!

Sort:  

Such a cool idea for a wedding gift! I have a few weddings coming up might just have to steal your idea :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58068.07
ETH 3133.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44