Just when you thought it was safe...I'm baaaack!

in #life7 years ago

Firstly, I would like to dispel once and for all any rampant rumours of my demise...while I may have had something called 'walking pneumonia' it did not prevail and I can now talk for a whole sentence without gasping for breath. Well almost!

Source

The narrative of the past few weeks went something like this. My Dad was unwell and that had me fully occupied for a while, so no time to post on Steemit.

So we went on a short South Pacific cruise while he (and I) recovered. Excellent, I thought... icy cold beverage in one hand MacBook at the ready, I'll Steem until my heart is content.

Yeah, not so much! Absolutely, positively no internet connection of any kind on said ship, once we left Brisbane. Apparently the words, 'slow connection' actually mean 'NO connection', notwithstanding a hefty charge for the non existent internet connection (post to follow).

)

Source

On our return having contracted pneumonia during the voyage, (see what no internet leads to)I have been coughing and wheezing my way though the past weeks.

Having now utilised every antibiotic and steroid known to mankind my one woman (actually two woman, my GP would be miffed if I didn't give her due credit) war on walking pneumonia is all but won. Woohoo!

Which brings us to the present. Just before I left I bought a new MacBook and having made the change from PC to MAC I am having some transition issues moving from one operating system to another, so its taking me a while to get a grip on how things works in MAC.

This could be a bumpy ride for a while... I can't find add images to my posts in 10 seconds the way I used to! Alternatively I can add my images but I can't seem to cite the URL's correctly...it's going well folks...Not!

Anyway, lack of appropriate images notwithstanding...looking forward to catching up with you all soon, assuming I can figure out how to drive this thing! Patience appreciated while I get my 'L' plates and training wheels under control...

I look forward to filling you all in on the salient details of the cruise without internet and catching up on what you have all been up to in my absence here and on Discord (the later just as soon as find where I stored my password lol).

Steem on all!

Sort:  

Welcome back mother, hope you figure out the new comp - and get back into posting again. love K

Thanks Krystle...I'm working on it

This could be a bumpy ride for a while... I can't find add images to my posts in 10 seconds the way I used to! Alternatively I can add my images but I can't seem to cite the URL's correctly...it's going well folks...Not!

...that really shouldn't be any different unless you you were using some app to write on here? o_O

That walking pneumonia thing sounds pretty awful, like halfway to zombiedom! D: Glad you seem to be doing better now :)

Thanks @ryivhnn! Yeah...you'd think it would all be the same but the commands are all different. I'm a bit old school, tend to use function keys rather than a mouse (also no mouse really on a note book) so when you switch form PC to MAC the commands are really quite different I have a few years to unlearn. Not sure I have that much RAM in my head lol . Finally found SHIFT COMMAND 4 will get me a screen shot!

It's mostly just cmd instead of ctrl XD And if you don't use the shortcuts on the function keys there's a setting somewhere to make the function keys just do their thing instead of having to hold down the Fn button.

And I'm a bit weird because after I fell in love with the Mac trackpads I have hated both mice and other trackpads so much that I now just use my tablet as a mouse because I can't cope with an actual one XD

There is also a keyboard shortcut that will let you just screencap sections of the screen, I can't remember off the top of my head where you need to look though, it's been a while XD

Hope the rest of the learning curve isn't too brain draining :D

Oh yes yes!! Look whos back! I have news!!! Steemit.chat kind of news!!
Im glad your dad recovered and that you took the time and space to make that journey (even if it ended with pneumonia) and now you are back with us.
I guess ill search for you on discord and we can chat there :)
I want to see more of your "usual back-then" posting!
So glad you are back :)
PS: Good news! It arrived ;) i have pictures :P

Excellent! So glad it finally turned up...I'm having trouble getting on to discord but will contact you when I get that sorted. Looking forward to the pictures <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61199.00
ETH 2393.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56