WEIRDNESS (Re-posting My Stroke Story, 1 Year Anniversary)

in #life7 years ago (edited)

One year ago, I had a stroke.

This is the first time I've re-posted any of my content, but this is important. I told the story not long after I joined Steemit. Please, take the time to know the symptoms. Mine were very subtle and had I not known the signs, the outcome would have been vastly different.

This info can save you or your loved one's lives.


I'm sure you've all heard or seen a PSA -
a Public Service Announcement.

Mostly, we ignore them. Now and then, maybe a catchy jingle or a clever turn of phrase grabs our attention for a nano-second. We chuckle, roll our eyes, or scoff at how lame it is and then we go on about the daily business of living.

If I may, I'd like to impose on you a tad and ask you to listen to them, at least once, when they pop up. Somewhere along the way, the following one got filed away in my memory and then forgotten until I needed it.

It's entirely possible it saved my life.


On June 23rd I was driving home from a late visit with Norman, Teddy, Barney, and Bubba. It was about 8 pm when I jumped on THIS to make the trip quick:

source - map and webcams

I was about halfway home when I noticed I felt 'weird'. Not a good thing at 60 mph. I sort of ran through a mental checklist of, first, exactly WHAT was weird, and then, HOW to deal with whatever the WHAT was. It finally dawned on me that my speech was 'not there'... weirdness again because I was alone, no one to talk to. I was navigating traffic okay, except for a slight inability to fully turn my head to the right to check for merging cars. I was relying on my side & rear view mirrors. It was about then that the FAST PSA came to mind. I knew loss of speech was mostly like a stroke. I didn't have any of the more obvious signs, although this was pretty convincing.

source

Hmmm, what to do... Well, I made it home with no problem. Walk in the door, waiting for hubby to stop talking and, at the same time, trying to figure out how to tell him I think I'm having a stroke - without being able to speak - and not have him flip out. (This is NOT weirdness. I just know my hubby. LOL!) So, I decide to write a note. (THIS is weirdness, no speech, but I still have the words.)

First note: I can't talk.

Hubby interprets this as 'I'm mad at you' and gives me space to get to where I can talk.

Sigh.... I didn't know this at the time, so I'm waiting for him to ask why.

Nope. He goes back to watching TV.

Second note: I feel weird.

Ahhhh, shift in focus by him and me still trying to find an 'easy way' to inform him of my conclusion.

Me stalling, then,

Third note: Stroke?!?

Hubby flips out.

I roll my eyes.

Hubby is in rescue / action mode, while I'm trying to convey info for the visits I had for the next day. That info was at home, so I had to gather it before I went to the emergency room. (More weirdness - there's no pain. Not even a slight headache. I always thought something like this would hurt.)

Typing this out makes it look like all this took a long time. In actuality, I was being checked into the emergency room in under an hour after the onset of my symptoms. I qualified medically to receive a tPA treatment, which takes about an hour to administer. Halfway into the treatment, I noticed improvement. By the time it was finished, I could string two or three words together. I was released from the hospital five days later, speech still difficult, but getting better daily.

I was lucky. This was a mild stroke and my speech was the only thing affected. Had I not been familiar with the warning signs, I'm sure the outcome wouldn't have been this positive.

Upvote, ReSteem,

THANKS FOR YOUR SUPPORT!

Sort:  

Consider sharing this on the Twitter too people, this is a great story and resource here by Deb!!!


https://twitter.com/BarryDutton/status/878468734956052480

BarryDutton Barry Dutton tweeted @ 24 Jun 2017 - 04:24 UTC

My friend @CallAuntDeb wrote a great #Blog on ID'g #Stroke symptoms!! #HeartAndStroke #Health @steemit @SteemitTalk

steemit.com/life/@aunt-deb… / https://t.co/LRiigrx4kF

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

This is great, I think I remember reading something about this long ago in your posts, but cannot remember. I am RS this for you now!!!!!!!!!!!!!

And I hope others value this simple and effective great article and share it also.

Thanks, bud! I saw the Tweet you did, too. Very cool!

Hey, I looked at your blog and they seem so interesting :) I followed you, please return the favour :) WE NEED TO BE FRIENDS!!

Such a valuable article to share! Thank you for teaching us all something so important!

You're welcome! I do hope it helps someone who might need it.

I'm glad you are okay. That sounds scary. My mom had an episode of bells palsy about a month ago. It has symptoms like a stroke but isn't a stroke (slurred speech, sagging face, can't smile, etc.). It is important to know the symptoms and get to a hospital. Glad your husband got into rescue mode.

Thank you! Symptoms like those can be odd, because at first you're not even sure something is wrong. It's easy to second guess yourself. I'm glad I (and your mom) lean toward the 'better safe than sorry' side of the scale.

It was interesting to see hubby in rescue mode. He did great even though I gave him static. He even contacted all my clients to update them and got all the critters looked after. THAT was phenomenal because he doesn't know any of them. Good man. He's a keeper!

Wow that must have been so scary for you and your hubby, Glad your OK now, look after yourself :(

Thanks! It was definitely something we'll be content to not repeat. Trying to be a good girl. ;~D

WOW

Thanks for resharing this! That is an important story!
Very glad you are still with us today!!

Thanks! It seemed like a good day to mention it.

Wow, that's scary...and impressive how calm and collected you were. Thank you for sharing your experience and signs/symptoms. Was it a TIA (transcient ischemic attack?) This type of stroke tends to be lower severity than a CVA (cerebrovascular accident)

Hmmm... replied earlier, but it didn't stick. Let me try again:

Calm is my default mode in medical situations. My sis had issues. I can always fall apart later if I want.

It was a blockage in the the left parietal lobe (ischemic, but not transient). That's why I could have the tPA. If it had been a bleed, the outcome would have been drastically different.

Good for you for being so resolute in your calmness. I'm happy to hear you're alright

Wow!

Its great that you are alive! Not many are, after they have a stroke!

A quick presence of mind is always helpful.

Thanks! It was definitely a memorable experience. I still have trouble speaking, but it's a small price considering the alternative.

Hope you're having a great day!

Yes!

Have a nice day :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94