Modem Misbehaving

in #life7 years ago (edited)

For the last week or so, I've been having trouble getting around the web.

It started with 'security alerts' from Mozilla. Sometimes I could continue, sometimes not. Then, it started with another alert, but this time it was supposedly my net provider - and it wanted me to do an online update of the modem... including using the passcode on the unit.

I've heard enough ransomware horror stories to make me very wary of these types of sudden alerts.

It took a while to do my research, thanks to all the hurdles I encountered, but I finally verified that my modem is, indeed, outdated. The replacement is due to arrive tomorrow.

I hope it shows up sooner rather than later...

Upvote, ReSteem,

THANKS FOR YOUR SUPPORT!

Sort:  

I had a problem with Steemit saying I had exceeded my bandwidth. Technology for ya!

Oh, yeah, that one, too. Lots of folks having issues with that! I hope they get it squared away soon.

Troubles will pop up, that's for sure. I hope yours vanish as fast as they appeared!

For me, your pic is not showing, here or in the feed. I think it is because somehow an extra letter got put at the end of its URL

https://steemitimages.com/0x0/http://i.imgur.com/83JQslx.gifv

should be

https://steemitimages.com/0x0/http://i.imgur.com/83JQslx.gif

without that v at the end, and then you will get this:

Cute doggie!

Thanks for the heads up! I couldn't tell whether it was just me or not. Fixed it and it's showing now. Sweet!

I feel for you. Comcast is coming tomorrow between 10-2 for me. Mine never just breaks, it just gets bad about once a year.
BTW I see NYC is making pet sitting illegal without some license. I just saw it on the news and was reminded of you :)

Good luck with yours and fingers crossed they get in one trip. That's my yardstick these days. Lol!

Wow, I hadn't heard about the licensing there. I'd be curious to see how they'll structure it. It's not like you can test somebodies skills. I'm sure it's just another way to generate revenue for the State.

I hate it when our modem drops the internet, I don't realize it usually until I try to post something or go to a different website. Then I have to unplug the modem, wait a bit and plug it back in. Wait a few more moments while it does it's thing, and then I'm back on line again.

Oh, yeah, that's a pain in the rear!

My beef is actually with my provider. I didn't choose them. The previous company sold off to my current crappy provider. My only other choice is someone even worse. I wish they'd enforce the anti-monopoly laws, but then the CEO wouldn't be able to afford that sixth yacht. Sigh....

I would have freaked out getting a message from my service provider. Glad you checked into it and made sure it was real.

Yeah, it was a bit unnerving. I'm semi-paranoid about that sort of stuff. That said, my provider has a track record of being ham-fisted about communicating changes. Sad to say, this is their version of 'customer service'.

Sigh.......

Welcome! I am new here also!

@aunt-deb

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64210.52
ETH 2627.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76