'Juggling Alligators, Chainsaws, and Bowling Balls'

in #life7 years ago

Not literally. But some days...


giphy

...it sure feels like that's what's on the schedule.

Several circumstances have been demanding my husband's and my attention all at the same time recently. It's damn hard to focus on priorities, when they all seem to fit the top slot.

Without going into too much detail, the main thing is hubby's health. It hasn't been great. He's diabetic (pills, not shots) and things got out of whack. It's taken a while, but we've figured out the issue and he's already doing much better. It's going to take a few months for him to be stronger though. Worrisome, but now have a game-plan.

To add to the mix, both of our employment situations have been more sporadic than usual. Mine's picking up, thankfully, so expect some more pet sitting posts in the next few weeks. Dealing with one of my clients' grief after losing her daughter, on the other hand, is an ongoing struggle for both her and I. I never imagined a scenario like this when I started my business, so this is purely 'ad lib' each day. Nerve wracking.

Hubby's job, however, isn't looking so good. It's a very specialized field and there are not many, if any, openings elsewhere. Officially, he's laid off his current position due to slow business. He's jumping through the hoops (aka busy-work, in this case) for state unemployment benefits, but it's not easy for him even on a good day right now. We're waiting to hear if they're going to approve the weeks he's applied for. Fingers crossed.

In the midst of this, his van decided to break down. Fixed now, but it was just one more thing to hassle with. Grrrr...

The kicker is my frustration at wanting to get on with more posts here. I've got plans for gardening (current & future), need to do lots of research for the Co-Op Project, and trying to keep up with comments on y'all's posts. Plus, worrying about my Dad (and a lot of y'all) getting through Irma, and a hundred other things flitting around in my brain. Wears me out.

With a bit a luck, things will settle down again going forward. In the meantime, I'll be lurking and voting on all the excellent articles in my feed.

Upvote, ReSteem,

THANKS FOR YOUR SUPPORT!

Sort:  

I hope the husbands feels better soon. My mom, dad, and brother are diabetic so I know through them how they feel when things get out of wack. Sorry things are so rough lately. Sometimes one bad thing after another happens and it stinks. Take care of yourself and try to calm your mind.

Thanks, hon! It helps to know folks understand dealing with this condition. My sis wrestled with it for 40+ years so I'm familiar - at a distance. Hubby is more of challenge as I have to judge mood & motivation frequently. Wheeeee.... ;~P

Unloading some of it on here actually helps. At least, it interrupts the merry-go-round in my head for a while. That's a real relief.

Yes @aunt-deb , its great to see your journey has not stopped you contributing to others in this way. Helps others understand, they are not alone..))

Thank you for your kind thoughts!

Sorry to hear about your husbands health issues the employment issues. These things can be really stressful. If you were closer I'd have a job for you next month 1 dog,2 cats & 8 hens.LOL Still no power and I wanna go someplace on a vacay that's cooler. Send the chainsaw guy my way😃
Thank goodness I have the iPad on cellular or I'd be having withdrawals. Have to keep it charged up which usually involves seeking a plug somewhere.
Need to return to my thinking about your co-op proposition, been too crazy this week. Take care of yourself and eachother.🐓

Thanks, @mother2chicks! We're pluggin' along best we can. Best news would be hubby getting called back to work. Until then, it's a bit of a mad scramble.

You are more than welcome to the chainsaw guy. Fingers crossed you get your power on soon and things return to normal. Y'all deserve a vacation after that ordeal!

Thanks @aunt-deb, I feel for you and your hubby. Its great to see you are still putting it out there.. and creating. Wishing you well in putting more posts up and sharing with this community, that's what the future brings I think .. community..

Thanks! The community here is very supportive. It's a stress reliever to have someplace to vent, too!

"Meditate" comes to mind :?) In light of what you shared, just logging on to touch base with your followers ... is generosity exemplified! And leading by example. (maybe it's time I submitted my first blog post)

Meditation was my gardening. Cooler temps and shorter days are cramping that diversion, so yeah, I'll have to find a substitute to keep my hands occupied. That tends to make the chatter in my head shut up for a while. Good suggestion! Thanks!

I suggest an 'introduceyourself' (using that phrase as your first tag for your first post) and tell about how you found Steemit, what interests you pursue, what makes you laugh, and you'll be off the the races in no time!

Thanks for your kind thoughts and comment!

Great works, I wish you success

Nice work , I like it

Great works, I wish you success!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62104.41
ETH 2404.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49