What Do You Think Of Personality Tests?

in #life6 years ago

Personality tests seem to be almost everywhere, they seem fun (and revealing) and well, we just can't resist taking them. There are really a whole lot of them out there and a few of them have taken almost all that they could lay their hands on😊


Source

I took a personality test back in 2014 (Myers-Briggs), I happen to be an INTJ while Mum is an ENFP (can't remember my siblings'), I heard INTJ's are quite rare😉. Lol!

We took the test back then because my family and I had to go through a really unpleasant situation and we were trying to heal from it. Well, my uncle thought that after going through too much stress (and trauma), our attitudes of character must have somehow changed so he suggested we take a personality test so we could better adjust with each other and heal together.

Yeah, great idea, it did help out a lot! We were able to get along even better and help each other (I did very little of the helping🙈)

These tests (at least the ones I have heard or read about and the one I took) comes in a form of questionnaire and really, let's face it, we ain't always honest with ourselves (well, especially if it's written or marked on a paper. Lol!)

Most of the time, we answer these questions based on how we want people to see us (how we wish we are) instead of what we feel or what we believe. And that action alone messes the whole result up! Lol


Source

I really don't know if I was really honest with myself back then, I think I was. But well, it's been years and I believe I must have changed a bit, I would love to take that test again (maybe a different type this time?). Uuhmn, No, I will go for that one to see if I have "really changed" or was really honest but somehow the idea of "INTJ" being rare makes me want to hold on to it (yeah, I love rare)😀 and I don't want a surprise. Lol!

While I think that some of these tests depict one's personality to an extent. I do think it's quite impossible to group almost everyone in a "little group".

I mean, look at the " T" and "F" of Myers-Briggs for example, I feel like we can't really separate thinking from feeling (not all the time) there could be a really thin line between it for some people and a huge tendency of others going towards one way or the other. what do you think? Well, the questions I answered pushed me to "T"

Doing it for fun sure is great, but I wouldn't wanna take them too seriously. It feels great to read all of those interesting things about you but it doesn't fully define you. That box that personality tests try to fit us all in is just too small.

And somehow, it doesn't give room for "weird" or "awkward" because we are all supposed to fit into those boxes. Lol! And well, the people that don't quite fit in become more uncomfortable with themselves.


Source

While I do think taking personality tests can be great and even fun, I feel we shouldn't always depend on them to define us. Because there is more to us than that stuff on written on a paper and analyzed by someone (wait, most of them are pre-analyzed. Lol!)

I feel that personality tests also say little about our "dark sides"😈, could it be because these tests are meant to define us in an " ideal world" and not the "real world"? Oh well!

Not all of us do take it seriously but a few do take it a little bit more serious than they really should. I think that personality test doesn't go a long way in describing a person's abilities, I feel that we are much more than what these tests say (yeah, even if you have taken a ton of them, you are more). They are great and fun but a little bit of effort into going on the discovery and self-exploration journey sure is great and it will be an adventure for you too.

Maybe it's gonna help in living together with people (that's if you are quite honest while taking the test) but it does little in helping us reach our full potentials. In fact some of us might take these tests, look at that great stuff said about them, boast about it and do absolutely nothing😂😂😀


Source

It might not be easy, you may have to face some conflicting beliefs about you while going on that discovery but it will be fun as well and your efforts will pay off!!

What do you guys think about personality tests?



Much Love — Audrey❤

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by audreybits from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I took the Myers-Briggs long ago when I first started college. I think I came across as an ENFP or something... Can't remember. I don't really consider it to be very important, to be honest. The head professor of the Honours program swore on it, and would actually call people out in class based on their designation to encourage "dissenting viewpoints"... But in the end, she had her favourites, and they were always right.

Oh well, never meant a thing to me. =)

Hahahah! I did have a friend that took a personality test (not sure which one though) but the test didn't really depict who she thought she is and well, she started putting efforts into being who that test said she is supposed to be😀

See something I have found here;👇

personality tests are leading us to miseducate our children, mismanage our companies and misunderstand ourselves

While I don't completely agree with her view, I think she is right to an extent, about misunderstanding ourselves.

Actually means something to me, the feeling of being part of the "rare"😀😀😀😂. Its so fun!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63743.08
ETH 2657.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87