The Swing 2

in #life6 years ago (edited)

So, Here Is a Continuation of My Previous Post

I hope I don't bore you with this😊

So, after deciding we were gonna make our own swing, we decided to choose a location for it. There was no way we were gonna use my house because my sister will keep calling me to keep or carry something for her which will disrupt our plans (I sure was exaggerating a bit), Grace's parents were a bit strict (or maybe too careful and protective) so they won't let us. We ended up using Hira's place since it seemed like the perfect spot at that point.

So, a bunch of 7-10years old kids came together to make a swing, I think I was about 8 then. Does that look like it was gonna end well?🤔 there were five of us at that point. After looking at the swing that has already been made, we knew the first step was to find a plank and then a rope, but finding a plank didn't seem like the easiest option, so we settled for sticks😀. The sticks were way easier for us to lay our hands on but we needed to find really strong and hard ones that are of course dry. We separated ourselves into two groups to go find sticks while we will later select the one that will work best for us later. After the “stick hunt” we came back to the spot we chose but the other group were a bit late so we had to wait for them before we choose the stick, when they came we chose the stick and it was time for the next step. I offered to bring the rope we will use since my parents had ropes that they usually will dry clothes on after washing and there was a spare one. I asked Dad for it, he said it would be a bit short for a swing but I bugged him anyways so he gave in. I bet he was like “they are gonna give up pretty soon and come back with it”. Well, he offered to help after giving the rope but I told him we could do it.

I came over with the rope and Maleek and Grace climbed up to fix things up there while I supervise😊.

I have never really been a great tree climber, I knew how to climb but I wasn't as good as them and I try to stay away, I probably was always scared that I will fall off. Most times when my friends will climb trees and have fun using different styles and tricks like they were monkeys (lol), I will be down there telling them to get down, or if it's a mango tree, I will be down pointing them towards the freshest mango. One time, Maleek fell, broke his arm and dislocated his elbow (yeah, 2 in 1) but he still didn't learn after that, the other kids too didn't learn.😀

So, after showing them the right spot to hang the rope, the hung it, with two ends of the rope being down. It was then that we realized that what my Dad was saying is indeed true — the rope was short, none of us could climb that way. So, they came down and we decide to go hunting for ropes. But where? We had no idea. I guess as kids, we always have that idea that all our needs will be meant somehow and the “ordeal” we have to go through is fun.

After trying hard with no success, we decided to try another means. Hira's mum had a sewing machine and she will often time sew clothes for people, she pretty much had strips of fabric lying around as waste which she often times end up burning. We came up with the idea that we could go collect these little strips of fabric, tie them together to form a rope and join them with our rope. Are you already seeing how this is gonna turn out?😆

We went back to Hira's house and met her Mum. Her parents haven't realized what we were up to just yet, even though they could hear our voices from outside, she didn't know what it was we were really doing. So, when we asked for the “waste fabric” she gladly gave them to us with no questions because it wasn't really unusual to see kids want to make “clothes” for their dolls with these. She probably noticed we were taking way too much but she ignored.
Off we go, tieing strips and strips and strips of fabric until it was long enough! While we were trying them all together, we noticed Ahmed, the boy with the swing in front of their house (yeah, the swing that caused all of these problems), he seemed to want to join us but was a bit unsure. He had the swing but swinging alone just isn't as fun. Well, making one seemed much more fun and we ignored him.

My friends went up again, to hang our now long rope, it was long enough this time, so we reached for the stick so we could tie them to each end just as we saw with how our parents did. Done!!!

Now, time to try... Who is gonna go first now? They all pointed at me😀, I brought the idea and I have been supervising so it is just right that I try it first. No, there was no way am going on that journey of no return. Lol! So, after a few minutes, we came up with a better idea, we will sit and put our whole weight on it to see what happens. So, I went first and the worst happened. We didn't tie it well! And no, my butt didn't hit the ground, well, not too hard.

Did we give up? Hell no, we were even more optimistic. But, this is where I stop for the day😊



Much Love — Audrey❤

image

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by audreybits from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

hahahahahahahahahahahaha

oh my gosh Audrey!!!!!!!! you have the best stories from childhood!!! i can't wait for part 3 LOLOL

😂😀😀😄 I really do? I think its all thanks to my parents for letting me explore back then 😀 and mingle with other kids... I probably should go back to explore more now...😊

I will try and put the next part up tomorrow. Thanks for stopping by and I am so glad I made you laugh so hard...😊

Hahaha Would it hurt if your butt had touched the ground? Am thinking that if your butt touched the ground, we would have been blessed with a picture of a scar on your butt in part 3 of this story😂😂😂😂😂

Posted using Partiko Android

Hahahahah! Scar? Heck no!!!! It would have cleared somehow and the ground wasn't so hard.... Thank goodness your prayers weren't answered😜. Well, it will get answered at some point🙈

Hahahaha tell me when it will get answered and in which aspect😂

Posted using Partiko Android

Hahahahh! You will have to wait for that part...😄😜

Never give up. Today's own has ended but there's another day. Rise up.

Yes yes! So true....

The cutest stories ;)
It is amazing how as children we are so optimisic, we gotta learn to find that vibe as adults. Love love love these lines.

I guess as kids, we always have that idea that all our needs will be meant somehow and the “ordeal” we have to go through is fun

hehehe meant should be <> met <>though

Gonna read the next one later today. PS , I wsih you would have made the boy join you and build the swing, nothung like the feeling of being left out as a kid, but kids do have their politics too.

Yeah, that vibe gets lost somewhere, we really should learn to find and reconnect with it.

Yeah, just saw that! Lol! That definitely was what i meant to type, and now, editing seems tasking. Lol

Hahahah! I know, right?

Oh no! All of that work and nothing butt your pride hurt! I am anxiously waiting to hear what is next.

Hahahah! At that point, it did but it really was cool when we saw yow it turned out....

Funny how we see things in different ways as we age.

Yeah... It really is!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55981.35
ETH 2368.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35