Keeping Up Conversations

in #life6 years ago

There are people that we strike conversation with and it just flows with little to no effort but there are also times when we try striking conversations with people and it just doesn't work out so well. Even with efforts to keep it going sometimes, awkwardness can still be felt and perceived in the air and that sure isn't a sign of a good conversation.


Source

For those conversations that don't seem to flow or flourish well, we try “cracking” our brains to come up with questions to keep it going and there are times we even end up asking questions we already have asked, probably in a different way and that only adds to the awkwardness. Sometimes we come up with funny stuff just to get rid of the awkwardness but sometimes, the laughter that follows might seem awkward too. Crazy, isn't it?

Well, at the end we tend to blame ourselves for not being so smart or for being terrible with handling conversations, forgetting that there were moments that we've had great conversations with people.

I am a terrible conversationist or at least, I used to be until I figured that I wasn't as terrible as I had thought. I know, conversations aren't the strength of most introverts and I so happen to be one and that's why I always will put in a bit of effort just to break out of my “shell” but sometimes, it really is a lot of effort.

Whenever I had to go out and probably meet new people, or even people I know, I would sit back for a while and come up with questions or ideas to spice up conversations or at least keep them going at different scenarios. Because the awkward atmosphere that comes by when interacting isn't always the most comfortable.


Source

Truth is, I figured that wasn't working too well for me either, it seemed forced and for some reason, the “effort” I was putting made it feel so unnatural (at least from my end)

Conversations are amazing! I mean, they are one part of our lives that we just can't choose to live without even if we feel we want to. Well, blocking it out of our lives will be limiting ourselves to a great extent. Great innovations have been made by the simple act of conversation, and great change to has been realized thanks to it. If we shut conversation out, we limit what we can do together.

What I have found to have worked for me over the course of time is; trying to know a little bit about person I am interacting with, find a common ground on a particular topic I figured they could find interesting, explore it with them, let my personality shine through and also give them space to let theirs shine.

What I have realized is that, because I seem to have the “weight” of not being so good with conversations on my shoulders and also trying to be on guard all the time so I don't appear boring, I often find myself putting a whole lot of unnecessary effort into doing the whole talking, which tends to remove the focus from the other party (or parties) and that sure isn't a conversation.


Source

We don't need to have the same ideas, values or even beliefs with people before we strike a conversation with them. In fact, when we truly wanna grow, we should open our minds to having healthy conversations with people whose beliefs, ideas or even lifestyles conflict ours. It lets us see life through their own eyes and open our mind to something we probably had no idea about. Like I said, it's all about finding a common ground.
People with different values, thoughts, and ideas from yours are actually the best to converse with.

Conversation is a two-way thing and there are times that even with our willingness to spontaneously interact with others and learn a thing or two from them, the other party just isn't as interested. That's why I believe that it is important for one to stay present in a conversation, not just so you could take in and digest every bit of it but so that you know when the other person isn't so into it and choose to quit the talk. Because it's healthier that way…


Source

Whether it's online or offline, conversations are important and the ability to interact with people, learn from them, teach them a few things and also get entertained is just amazing, you don't have to be the conversation starter just in case you feel you are not so good with that, (even though it won't hurt to practice😉). Don't miss out on this blessing so go out there and have fun interacting and don't forget to send out love through these conversations because that makes a great difference!!😊



Much Love — Audrey❤

Sort:  

It takes two to tango or someone a little bit crazy :) Conversation can also be tricky or run dead when the other party is intent on staying with a set topic. When conversation is allowed to flow naturally even banter at a check out can be worth remembering.

Posted using Partiko Android

A free flowing conversation is always the best. At the end of the day, it always is worth it to end a conversation with a great feeling, afterwards. Why stick to one topic when there is ton out there that could be even more fun? Well, I guess that's something some of us ought to realize...

I can relate to this... last time I went out with a girl, it was a bit awkward. We had talked for hours the previous night and I was a bit tipsy. All went well, though.

The next day we went to lunch and it was the most awkward lunch ever. I barely talked. She talked about stupid things that didn't interest me at all... and when I tried to change the topic, she would always get a phone call or a message, breaking up the conversation.

Conclusion: I never saw her again.

Not being able to have a good conversation definitely isn't a sign for a good relationship between two people. Even I try to stay away from people that I don't have interact with easily. I find interacting with them to be too draining...

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by audreybits from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Ah Conversations, those awkward moments of silence and that look on the faces. I know it well, I always try to wrap up a convo quickly to avoid that, but I realize it isn't good.

If we shut conversation out, we limit what we can do together.

That is really true, and I shall keep that in mind the next time I try to jump convo before the awkward bomb goes off LOL

I really feel that we can program our minds to become good conservationist by visioning ourselves being so.

I also think that this is a major reason people drink liquor and become alcoholics because it makes them better at conversations because they are more confident. ( Don't start drinking now Audrey )

Ho Ho Ho! @audreybits, one of your Steem friend wished you a Merry Christmas and asked me to give you a new badge!

SteemitBoard wish you a Merry Christmas!
May you have good health, abundance and everlasting joy in your life.

To see who wanted you to receive this special gift, click here!

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Christmas Challenge - Send a gift to to your friends

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63281.14
ETH 2674.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79